Review: 5 to 1 by Holly Bodger

5 to 1

Title: 5 to 1

Author: Holly Bodger

Publication Date: May 12, 2015

Excerpt from Goodreads:

In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl, making women an incredibly valuable commodity. Tired of marrying off their daughters to the highest bidder and determined to finally make marriage fair, the women who form the country of Koyanagar have instituted a series of tests so that every boy has the chance to win a wife.

Sudasa, though, doesn’t want to be a wife, and Kiran, a boy forced to compete in the test to become her husband, has other plans as well. As the tests advance, Sudasa and Kiran thwart each other at every turn until they slowly realize that they just might want the same thing.

This beautiful, unique novel is told from alternating points of view-Sudasa’s in verse and Kiran’s in prose-allowing readers to experience both characters’ pain and their brave struggle for hope.

I was given a complimentary copy from the author in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

This story is told from two point of views. Sudasa’s and Kiran. Sudasa’s story is told in verse while Kiran’s story is told in prose.

In a world where the gender of men to women is 5 to 1, young men must compete in a series of tests to win a wife. Those who do not win a wife are sent to work or commit suicide. Kiran is one of the five young men competing for Sudasa’s hand in marriage. Only Kiran does not want to be with Sudasa, he wants to be free. Kiran plans to flee to country after the Tests are over, but Sudasa’s has plans of her own.

This novel was a quick and interesting read. The alternating styles between the two points of views was a first for me. I have never read a novel that was told in verse and I throughly enjoyed it. This novel will definitely get you thinking about a dystopia in which women rule. Such a neat concept. The only issue I had with this novel was its open ending. I believe it was written to be that way, but I want more! The author would have plenty of leeway if she decided to write a sequel. All and all it was a quick and thought provoking read.

3.5 out of 5 stars


Meet the Author

holly

A long-time resident of Ottawa, Canada, Holly has been working in publishing since she graduated with an English degree from the University of Ottawa.

She is represented by Lauren MacLeod of The Strothman Agency, LLC. Her debut novel, 5 TO 1, will be coming out  May 12, 2015 from Knopf (Penguin Random House). You can check her out on Goodreads or at her website!

21 thoughts on “Review: 5 to 1 by Holly Bodger

  1. It’s been quite a while since I’ve read a dystopian book that I really loved. This sounds like it could be the next one I try. I also really love that it’s set somewhere besides the U.S. Having it set in India makes me want to pick it up even more! Great review!

    Like

  2. This sounds like such an interesting premise! I’m not sure how I’d feel about the open ending either, but will definitely be on the lookout to pick this up; It sounds like it’d be a good read! :]

    Like

  3. Ooh – happy to find your blog via the blog hop. I love to read and I love to get good opinions on what to read. I am a little over it with the apocalyptic “YA” books after Hunger Games and Divergent, though. Your 3 stars makes this one a non-starter. I will check out your other posts though! I recently posted a guest post on top 14 books of 2014 if you want to check that out!

    Like

  4. I like the concept of your blog. I admit that book reading always falls by the wayside for me, especially when it comes to my leisure reading. It’s not that I don’t love to read but after reading for work and reading bedtime stories, I am the one that misses out on the “fun” reading. Oh, and the open ending of this book would drive me batty! 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Great review, I really enjoy Dystopian especially when it is done right. I like that the premise behind this book is almost opposite of today’s reality, instead of women having no rights and out numbering the men in the country now, this is an interesting spin on the possibility of women taking control of their rights in the country! I am going to add this to my goodreads list, thanks so much for sharing!!!

    Like

  6. First of all, it sounds like a wonderful read. I’ve got so many books in queue that I will probably die with a hundred unread!!! Secondly, your blog title is so clever. It immediately made me want to keep reading!

    Like

  7. Now that would be interesting…quite the opposite over here. Too many women…not enough women. “win a wife”…love it…then maybe they would appreciate her. Sorry…do I sound bitter? 😉

    Like

  8. I have tried to read books in verse, but honestly I struggle with them. However, the concept of this one is so interesting and different from the norm that I might be able to enjoy the verse, just for the unique story!

    Like

  9. Pingback: Hype Hype Hooray + Q&A: 5 to 1 by Holly Bodger - Wildfire Books

Leave a Reply

