Libraries: A Home Away from Home

image 6c35d50483970d70626f609e01ce9119grid-cell-410-1374098575-20

Library (lahy-brer-ee):

1. A place set apart to contain books, periodicals, and other material forreading, viewing, listening, study, or reference, as a room, set ofrooms, or building where books may be read or borrowed.

2. A place of happiness.

Did you know that the first known librarian dates as far back as roughly 2000 B.C.? Now the idea of the “public library” didn’t come around until the 1800s, but that is still a pretty long time. In other words, libraries have been around for ages.

I don’t know about any of you, but I love libraries. They are my home away from home. I find few things more wonderful than that of being capable to borrow a book at no cost to you (as long as you bring it back on time). I have always been envious of the scene in The Beauty and The Beast where the Beast shows Belle the library. How is this not the quickest way to any girl’s heart? Or anybody’s heart for that matter?

If my husband and I ever have a house that has the space, I’m turning an entire room to a library. Complete with a ladder with wheels. Because who doesn’t want a library in their home?

Like I said earlier, I love libraries. Libraries are sanctuaries, information, entertainment, and portals to billions of worlds. Libraries provide books to all who need them.

“You want weapons? We’re in a library! Books! The best weapons in the world!” – Doctor Who

“The only thing you have to absolutely know, is the location of the library.” – Albert Einstein

” I ransack public libraries, and find them full of sunk treasure.” – Virginia Woolf

What do you think of libraries?

39 thoughts on “Libraries: A Home Away from Home

  1. I love the library. I have a friend who was telling me she spent too much money on books. I asked if she had a library card. She scoffed at the idea, saying that she didn’t like reading books other people had touched. Personally, I think that well-worn books make them even more appealing.

    In both high school and college, I worked at the library. Back in the card catalogue days. I even got involved in the barcoding project when that was new technology!
    Nowadays, I’ll admit that I check out a lot of eBooks – it’s simple and easy. The library is a bit out of the way, so I tend not to go as frequently. But I understand the appeal!

    Thanks for sharing! #GrowYourBlog

    Liked by 1 person

      • That’s great your library has the same service for borrowing eBooks. My problem is that I tend to put a bunch on hold, and then they all become available at the same time! If I check them out, I don’t get through them all. And sometimes, I’ll nearly be done a book and it expires – and then isn’t available right away. Pure drama!! Not like a real book, where you can just stay up all night to finish it, and then return it a day late! Haha

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love libraries! ❤ As a kid, I'd frequent the public library each week to get my fill on reading, and when I was in high school, I went through a tonnnnn of the books at the school library. ❤ Great way to find new books and it saves so much money!

    Like

  3. Yes, I too love libraries, ever since I was a little kid. There’s just something about being in the presence of so many books. So many possibilities. So many stories. I simply love it!

    Like

  4. I love libraries as well! Especially older ones that actually seem to have some history in them. There is also something about a library that makes me feel like I can pretty much conquer every dream I have if I just sit down right there and get started haha…love them!

    Like

  5. I used to go to the library a lot but recently a lot of them have closed or are on reduced opening hours. I live quite far from my nearest library and I’m not really struggling for reading material at the moment so I haven’t been for a while. I do use my library’s ebook lending site though.

    Like

  6. Let me tell you how much I love the library, I work at 5 of them part time (I rotate between different branches to keep it interesting:).
    Seriously, (most the time) love it:) I love when patrons come in who appreciate it, you get so many these days that don’t know the meaning of the word quiet, who seem to only come in to hang out and check out DVD’s only???
    My favorite moments; Love when a child comes in to get their first library card, and they are so excited and when you hand them their card, they act as though you just handed them the greatest thing in the world.
    Nothing better than breaking open a new book for the first time, that is probably my favorite part is being able to read a new book I want first before others:)
    Ya, you totally just touched on a subject that I totally agree on! You and I would probably get along great in real life!!!!

    Like

  7. I love libraries! I love them even more now that they are going digital. I love that I can go to the library on my iPad/iPhone and download books right into my Kindle app. I also listen to audio books both in the car and when I run. I can also download them without ever leaving my living room. So really, the library has enabled me to have a library in my home, even without the needed space. 🙂

    Like

  8. I love my local public library – without it I wouldn’t be able to read half of what I do every year. They recently decided to make memberships free, so I won’t have to pay to renew my card this year. I’m pretty excited about that!

    Like

  9. I love the library too! That you can borrow almost infinite amounts of books at no cost really floors me. I never thought about visiting libraries in other places – truly away from home, but it would be a cool way to get a feel or the place you were visiting.

    Like

  10. I have always loved the library. My sister and dad are big readers. As a kid I enjoyed reading but not as much as they do.
    I still love going to the library. When the kids were younger we would go and do the weekly activity and borrow books. Find books that we loved so much that I went out and bought them and so forth.
    We still go today, in fact we went yesterday. My daughter is really into Ned Kelly at the moment (australian bushranger), and while I have enough books on my list to read (as I got 3 out last week), I did pick up some magazines (for a change).
    While our library is small we have thousands of titles available on interlibrary loan.
    What’s not to love about the library!?

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love libraries so much! I would love to have a library room then I could buy all the books and have room for them. When I was a little girl they finally built a library near me and I would spend hours looking for books and reading.

    Like

  12. Love the library! I love to bring my kids to the library too. It was something my family did regularly. I’d love leaving the library with a huge stack of books every month. So I try to take my kids often and it’s the best feeling seeing them leave with that same stack of books.

    Like

  13. I like going to the library and don’t go nearly enough! Sometimes I get a big overwhelmed – I have a hard time picking out books when surrounded by so many!

    Like

  14. Great post!! I LOVE the library. I remember going as a kid and bringing home stacks of books. Library Day at school was my favorite day of the week! I work in higher education on a college campus and every week or so my coworkers and I will take a break and go browse books (and enjoy the smell) of the college library! I definitely can’t go to the library and just get one book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

