Review: Only Everything by Kieran Scott – Swoonuary Post

Swoonuary (1)

This February I am participating in Swoonuary. If you did not read my first post about Swoonuary, Swoonuary is an event hosted by The Bookish Groupies (Jennie, Mallory, Ang, Blessie, & Tika), in which I pledged to read personally selected swoon worthy books throughout the month of February!

The fourth and final book I have decided to read for Swoonuary is…

evverything

Title: Only Everything

Author: Kieran Scott

Publication Date: May 6, 2014

Excerpt from Goodreads:

Like Zeus, the king, who thinks the proper reaction to finding me kissing a mortal is to threaten my boyfriend Orion’s life, banish me to Earth, and force me to inspire true love between three couples without my powers. I know! Elders! I’m Eros, a.k.a. Cupid. The Goddess of Love. Until this morning, anyway.

Now I’m stuck on Earth with no clue how to function as a human, and I can’t even conjure up my magical bow and arrows to help me do my job. I’ve already met this amazing guy—Charlie, a new kid in school like me—but matching him up isn’t as easy as I thought. Turns out opposites don’t attract, nearly identicals don’t attract, and giving a guy what he seems to want is just one big disaster. My sweet new friend Katrina might work, but she’s got more complications than Medusa’s hair, and a live-in boyfriend with a serious mean streak. Probably not the best idea to go there.

If I don’t make a match, I may never see Orion again. I have so much to lose, and only everything to gain.

Eros is sent to Earth after her father, Ares, discovers that she is in love with a mortal, Orion. Apparently only the upper gods/goddesses can have relations with mortals and whoever they like while lower gods and goddesses are just out of luck. Anyways…Zeus sends Eros to Earth without her bow and arrows or her powers and she must make three couples fall in love. Otherwise, Zeus and/or Ares will kill Orion.

This story is told from three point of views. True (Eros), Charlie, and Katrina. I found that I thoroughly enjoy this book. While most reviews were all over the place, I’m glad I kept an open mind about this one. The story was easy to follow and I have no problems finishing it fairly quickly.

As far as characters go, True is clueless. One would think that after thousands of years she would know what people look for in others, but she is seriously clueless without her powers. She also has no idea how to dress herself without her powers and has no idea how to hold a normal conversation with others. At least anyone who is mortal (excluding Orion). She has a problem with stealing. Stealing food, clothes, just about anything she feels like taking. Supposedly in the “god/goddess” world, others don’t mind if you steal from them because they can just conjure another of the same item with no problems. For someone who has spent plenty of time on Earth matching others to their one true love, she has absolutely no idea the way the world works.

Although this book could be a bit ridiculous at times, I still really enjoyed it. I really liked Charlie and Katrina and they were adorable in their little moments together. The ending of the book is conclusive in certain aspects, but leaves you with a bit of a hanger that sets the second book up for an interesting story. This book is part of a three part series that I could see myself finishing.

3 outs of 5 stars

I read all the books I planned to read for Swoonuary this month. I must say I’m pretty pumped. I read some great books that were definitely swoon worthy! Hope everyone had a great February! March, here we come!

10 thoughts on “Review: Only Everything by Kieran Scott – Swoonuary Post

Leave a Reply

