Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

17878931

Title: Red Queen

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Publication Date: February 10, 2015

Excerpt from Goodreads:

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the center of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

Style

I thoroughly enjoyed Aveyard’s style of writing. I was constantly entertained and never found myself wandering off in thought. I just couldn’t wait to see what happened next. I thought of Katniss from the Hunger Games in this novel. Just like Katniss (Mare), a young girl who comes from nothing who turns into the face of the revolution with a male best friend back home – at least in the beginning of the book. I also thought of Thor of Loki when it came to the two brothers. The older brother is the apple of his father’s eye while the younger brother stands in the shadow of this older brother. Now we have all read books about humans with superhuman abilities, but I feel as though this novel brings a new edge to this genre. I really appreciated how the color of one’s blood determined whether they had abilities or not, but Mare is who changes that.

Setting

We start out in the Stilts when Mare Barrow lives. This is one of the places in which the Reds live. Dirty, muddy, and a place with no roads, the author effectively paints a picture of a rundown town and creates a mood that narrates the harsh lives of the Reds. After a one in a million meeting with someone who she couldn’t even imagine, Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Where the Silts are muddy and dull, the Silver Palace is pristine and sparkling with walls made of diamonds. Throughout the entire book, the author gives us beautiful, detailed atmospheres and landscapes. Also the image of silver blood is something I will never get out of my head…seriously awesome. I genuinely admired how the author handled each and every scene.

Plot

This book was entertaining from beginning to end. I was constantly invested in the characters and their stories and the buildup to the climax was executed brilliantly. There were consistent events that kept me thoroughly intrigued and wanting more. The plot twist threw me for a loop and the ended left me satisfied. I felt like the only loose ends that were left open were the ones that will be answered in the second installment.

Characters

 Our main character is Mare Barrow. She steals for a living and would love to have her parents pride like her sister Gisa does. Mare has three brothers who are currently away at the war. There is Kilborn, the closest person that Mare has to a best friend. Once Mare is living in the Silver Castle, we meet Prince Cal (we meet him earlier in the story, we just don’t know who he is yet) and Prince Maven. With Cal being the older brother, he will be the one who inherits the throne after his father’s reign. Maven is the younger brother so he will remain a prince forever, unless something was to happen to Cal… We also meet the king and the truly awful queen. Cal’s mother died when he was younger. Afterwards, the king remarried and then Maven came along. There are also smaller characters throughout the book that aren’t mentioned as much, but played important parts throughout the story.

I liked Mare. I love how she isn’t afraid to say what she wants to whoever she wants. I really enjoyed reading about both of the princes. I liked Cal, but I loved Maven from the very beginning. He is the quiet one who doesn’t live in the spotlight like his brother and that set him apart for me. Even though Maven’s mother, Elara, was evil and I wanted to strangle her half of the time, her love for her son Maven was enduring. But that was the ONLY thing that was enduring about that evil woman. There were character relationships that I loved reading about and I really liked observing how Mare’s relationship developed with each one.

Conclusion

This was a great book that was easy to read and really hard to put down. I think this story would appeal to many readers. While I renting this book from the library I will be purchasing it because some great books just need to be on your shelf. I will most definitely be reading the second book in this series. Now time to play the waiting game…

4 out of 5 stars

6 thoughts on “Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. Great review! I was already checking my library for it after reading only about 3 paragraphs of your review. Unfortunately my library doesn’t have it, but iTunes does and I still have a left over balance from a Christmas gift card. I can’t wait to start reading it.

    Like

  2. I am so happy to read a positive review about this one. I am So excited about it, but I have been worried about reading it because of some not so flattering reviews. Now, I am feeling a little less worried, so thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

