Review: Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios

captive

Title: Exquisite Captive

Author: Heather Demetrios

Publication Date: October 7, 2014

Excerpt from Goodreads:

Forced to obey her master.
Compelled to help her enemy.
Determined to free herself.

Nalia is a jinni of tremendous ancient power, the only survivor of a coup that killed nearly everyone she loved. Stuffed into a bottle and sold by a slave trader, she’s now in hiding on the dark caravan, the lucrative jinni slave trade between Arjinna and Earth, where jinn are forced to grant wishes and obey their human masters’ every command. She’d give almost anything to be free of the golden shackles that bind her to Malek, her handsome, cruel master, and his lavish Hollywood lifestyle.

Enter Raif, the enigmatic leader of Arjinna’s revolution and Nalia’s sworn enemy. He promises to free Nalia from her master so that she can return to her ravaged homeland and free her imprisoned brother—all for an unbearably high price. Nalia’s not sure she can trust him, but Raif’s her only hope of escape. With her enemies on the hunt, Earth has become more perilous than ever for Nalia. There’s just one catch: for Raif’s unbinding magic to work, Nalia must gain possession of her bottle…and convince the dangerously persuasive Malek that she truly loves him. Battling a dark past and harboring a terrible secret, Nalia soon realizes her freedom may come at a price too terrible to pay: but how far is she willing to go for it?

Inspired by Arabian Nights, EXQUISITE CAPTIVE brings to life a deliciously seductive world where a wish can be a curse and shadows are sometimes safer than the light.

Ok, so there are various types of jinni’s throughout this book. Some can control water, others air, fire, or earth. There were also those who can control all the elements until they were all murdered, except for Nalia. While the author did provide a list of the different names and characteristics of all the different types of jinnis, I was constantly finding myself confused and having to reference the list to identify various jinnis. I was overwhelmed the first half of the book and I felt like I was being dumped with information. Once I got about half way into this book, I started to enjoy myself.

I loved the moments when we get to see Nalia’s homeland, Arjinna, through flashbacks and moments in which Nalia creates a mock Arjinna in her room. The description of mountains made of lapis lazuli, waterfalls that created music as they fall, and flowers that are ten times prettier than the ones on Earth, definitely created some beautiful pictures. I felt like the land of Arjinna was extremely original.

The story is told from three different points of view. First we have our main character, Nalia. Secondly we have Raif. And last but not least, we occasionally see from the point of view from Haran, the one that is hunting down Nalia. I was fine with Naila’s and Raif’s point of views, but the views from Haran were extremely confusing. They didn’t make sense until almost the end of the book. If I described the book’s plot from beginning to end, I would say that the pace was kept fairly steady. Of course we have our buildup, climax, and plot twist, but most events and surprises were expected (all except one). The ending left a couple loose strings, but I’m sure they will be answered in book two.

As far as the characters go, we have Nalia our main character. She is “owned” by her master Malek. We also have Raif and his sister who plan on setting Nalia free from her master. Haran is an important character, but isn’t as prominent until the end of the book. We sort of have a love triangle between Nalia, Malek, and Raif. Nalia is trying to convince Malek that she loves him so she can steal the bottle from him that controls her. Although she tells herself she does not have feelings for him, every time they are together, there is something there. On the other hand, Raif and Nalia hate each other from the very beginning. After an intimate moment together, they practically fall in love after their first kiss. The instalove between these two was really annoying and I have a feeling that their relationship will get complicated (even more so than it is now).

Although I felt like the book was slow at times and took me awhile to finish, I think that Demetrios wrote a decent novel for the beginning of the series. I feel like the first installment was more of an introduction to Nalia and information on her background and we can finally get on with the story for the second installment. I will be interested to read how the relationships develop between Nalia, Raif, and Malek.

3 out of 5 stars

(The pictures below are not my own. They have been borrowed off of Pinterest)

FotorCreated

6 thoughts on “Review: Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios

  1. So my friend and I were talking last Week and we were saying how we were both on the lookout for some new books to read, that are totally different topics than we are used to.
    Genie’s is something I don’t think I have ever read in a book, so this is a great timely review for me today. Thanks for sharing!!!

    Like

  2. Thank GOODNESS I have finally found someone else that had at least a little bit of a hard time with this one. I struggled with it, but not because I didn’t like it. It was just too slow. Otherwise, I adored the story and the characters. The pacing was just too slow, and I had to put it down for a while. I will eventually go back for another try, but I have to make sure I am in the right kind of mood for it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

