Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book for Readers Who Like Standalones

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish, and I decided to share my list with all of you also!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is top ten books for readers who like standalones. I can always go for a good series, but sometimes it’s nice to read and standalone and not have to wait for the sequel. Shall we?

perks

1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. I loved every bit of this novel. This book pulled me in from the very beginning and I finished it in one sitting! I have yet to see the movie, but I hope it lives up to my expectations, because this novel is amazing.

park

2. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. I really enjoyed the relationships in this book. The ending up of this book left me completely stunned. This is one of those books that makes you so invested in the characters lives, that you feel like you truly know them.

21795576

3. Everything That Makes You by Moriah McStay. This book has such an interesting concept. I have never read a book like it before and I think this book will captivate all of its’ readers.

fence

4. On The Fence by Kasie West. Such a sweet and lighthearted read. Perfect for those who are looking for a cute contemporary. I will read all of Kasie West’s books from now on!

13

5. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. A novel about a girl who gives thirteen people, thirteen reasons why she committed suicide. This was a moving novel that helps bring insight on suicide.

differnt

6. A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall. An adorable story about the lives of two people destined to fall in love. This story is told through the perspective of fourteen different point of views.

sold

7. Sold by Patricia McCormick. A thought provoking novel about the world of child sex trafficking. “Sold” will move you and open your eyes like you have never seen before.

gone

8. Gone Girl by Gilliam Flynn. One of my favorite mystery novels to-date! This book will keep you on the edge of your seat to the very bitter end!

18460392

9. All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. “All The Bright Places” took me to a place I didn’t even know possible. This book will move you beyond words.

fault

10. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. This book. I mean, this BOOK. This book gives you alllll the feels. A story about two terminally ill teens who find love. This is a book I will always reread.

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book for Readers Who Like Standalones

  1. Gone Girl also made my list, but for a different topic. And 13 Reasons Why just missed the cut (but I’m currently working on a review of it). I love a good stand alone. I hate the recent need to turn everything into a series or trilogy. Sometimes, a story should just be allowed to shine in all its glory in one solid book.

    Like

  2. Some great books in this list… gone girl, fault in the stars, Eleanor & Park. I haven’t read some of these others but I’m thinking we could have some similar tastes looking at them. I’ll add a few to my tbr list 🙂 Have you read girl on the train or everyday? They are great in this category as well.

    Like

  3. Some of these sound awesome and I haven’t read any of them. Maybe I just need to spend more time reading 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. Great list! I’ve only read Perks and 13 Reasons Why, but several of your other book picks are on my TBR list. I am really looking forward to reading them. I haven’t seen the movie for Perks of Being a Wallflower yet either, I have been waiting to reread the book since I read it such a long time ago. I am currently rereading it, so hopefully I will get to watch the movie soon. Love your picks!
    Stephanie @ My Bookish Itinerary

    Like

  5. Some of these are on my TBR list (John Green books and Eleanor and Park are pretty high up there). And I actually didn’t care for Gone Girl… It could be because I’m not too fond of psychological thrillers though, but I may still try Dark Places. And, 13 Reasons Why has been on my TBR list forever!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Tiesday: My Ten Favorite Top Ten Topics I Have Ever Done | onenightbookstandblog

Leave a Reply

