Review: The Vanishing Girl by Laura Thalassa

19395125

Title: The Vanishing Girl

Author: Laura Thalassa

Publication Date: March 15, 2014

Excerpt from Goodreads:

Every night after Ember Pierce falls asleep, she disappears. She can teleport anywhere in the world—London, Paris, her crush’s bedroom—wherever her dreams lead her. Ten minutes is all she gets, and once time’s up, she returns to her bed. It’s a secret she’s successfully kept for the last five years. But now someone knows.

A week after her eighteenth birthday, when frustratingly handsome Caden Hawthorne captures her, delivers her to the government, and then disappears before her eyes, Ember realizes two things: One, she is not alone. And two, people like her—teleporters—are being used as weapons.

Dragged off to a remote facility where others like her live, Ember’s forced to pair up with her former captor, Caden, to learn how to survive inside until she can escape. Only Caden’s making escape seem less and less appealing.

But even as Ember falls for the boy who got her into this mess, she knows that she is running out of time. Because the government has plans for those like her, and those plans might just cost Ember her life.

I received a free copy of this book via NetGalley from the publisher in exchange for a honest and unbiased review.

In The Vanishing Girl, we meet Ember who has just been collected by the government and transported to a facility in the middle of nowhere. Here she meets others just like her (people who can also teleport in their sleep) and is paired off with her partner, Caden. She learns that she is going to be trained to be a spy for the American government.

This was on of those books that instantly drew me in. Not once did I feel as though the book was lagging. I had no trouble finishing most of this book in one sitting. The story felt original and I never felt like I was comparing this book to any other one I have read before. The pace was great and I was turning the pages as fast as I could. I’ll admit it, there were a few times I would skip a page or two ahead because the anticipation was just too much!

As far as characters go, I thought Ember was alright. I liked her most of the time. She was quick to learn (of course that has something to do with her genetics) and slow to trust. Now in the “falling in love” department, she gets a “F.” She falls in love with Caden after one week of meeting him, or so she says. And Caden? The first serious question he asks Ember is “Could you love me?” What is Ember’s response? “Yes. I could love you easily.” I’m not forgetting the fact that they were genetically matched to be together, but still. The instalove was through the roof with this one. Other than the instalove, I did enjoy most characters. There are also some characters we don’t see enough of, but I’m sure we will in the second installment.

I felt like the plot was full of constant twists and turns. There were quite a few moments I did not expect. The way the events unfolded was also surprising. Yes, we did have the instalove, but I really enjoyed the story. The plot was quick and I wasn’t bored for a second. There are a few mature scenes throughout the book, so I would not recommend this one for anyone under eighteen. It is a book written for adults. That being said, the ending leaves you seriously hanging. I definitely plan to read the second installment!

3.5 out of 5 stars


Meet The Author

7152490

Born and raised in Fresno, California, Laura Thalassa spent her childhood cooking up fantastic tales with her best friend. Lucky for her overactive imagination, she also happened to love writing.

When not writing, you might find her at the beach, along a hiking trail, or curled up on the couch with a book.

Laura Thalassa lives in sunny Santa Barbara, California with her fiancé, author Dan Rix.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, or her website.

Leave a Reply

