Review: Love Fed by Christina Ross

21413935

Title: Love Fed: Purely Decadent and Completely Simple Raw, Plant-Based Desserts

Author: Christina Ross

Publication Date: March 17, 2015

Excerpt from Goodreads:

Desserts that are rich in flavor—and all things good for you! In Love Fed: Purely Decadent and Completely Simple Raw, Plant-Based Desserts, Christina Ross of PatisseRaw and Love-Fed.com serves up raw, vegan treats full of nourishing ingredients and intense flavor, but without a touch of gluten, dairy, or refined sweeteners. Love Fed takes the plant-based, no-cook method of preparing desserts to new heights with more than 80 delicious, easy recipes. Inspired by French pastries and conventional classics, Christina gives you everything from Pistachio Saffron Rosewater Ice Cream and Chocolate Hazelnut Caramel Apple Torte to Trail Blazing Truffles and Splendid Day Red Velvet Cupcakes, satisfying to even the most discerning sweet tooth. Along the way, she introduces readers to new ingredients (and makes them less daunting), shares her solutions for potential hiccups, tells stories from her own life, and supplies mouth-watering full-color photos. With helpful tips on raw pantry staples and creative twists on dessert prep, Love Fed caters to both novices and experienced foodies alike. Chocolate lovers, caramel aficionados, ice cream devotees, cake enthusiasts, cheesecake fans—Love Fed has it all for you.

I received this book for free from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for a honest and unbiased review.

From popsicles to cakes and parfaits, Love Fed includes a wide range of desserts almost anyone would enjoy. This cookbook will appeal to many readers due to its lack of gluten, dairy, or refined sweeteners within the recipes. I personally know people who have food allergies or can’t consume sugar and it can be hard to find a decent sugar free/clean dessert.

The only complaint I had about the cookbook was the fact that some of the ingredients for the recipes can be scare where I live. Unfortunately I don’t live near a Whole Foods and I don’t see myself ordering one ingredient online for a recipe. I’ll just have to get creative with substitutes! Over all, Love Fed is perfect for those who are looking for yummy, but healthy recipes!

3 out of 5 stars


Dark Chocolate Almond Bark with Sea Salt

FullSizeRender

Yield: One 9 x 13″ Bark

Prep Time: 10 minutes, plus 15 minutes freezing time

Ingredients:

1 cup of melt cacao butter

1 1/4 cup of cacao powder

1 teaspoon of course sea salt

1/3 cup agave nectar

1 1/2 teaspoons of almond extract

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1/2 cup of almond pieces

Directions:

Line a 9 x 13″ baking sheet with parchment paper of plastic wrap, allowing the paper or wrap to hang over the sides.

Place the melted cacao butter in a medium bowl and stir in the cacao powder, sea salt, agave nectar, almond extract, and vanilla extract. Mix until smooth.

Pour the mixture into the lined pan and sprinkle the almond pieces throughout the pan.

Place in the freezer until firm, about 15 minutes. Break the bark apart and store the remaining pieces in the freezer for up to 1 month.


Meet the Author

FullSizeRender-2

My healthy relationship with food began when I first met my beloved Alex back in spring of 2008. For Alex and I it was love at first sight, the healthy food, on the other hand, took a bit more time, but grew on me with every bite. Every morsel of whole plant based food had a direct impact on my energy levels, attitude, outlook and consciousness. This sudden awareness of the true powers of food really spun my life around in the most positive direction. I began falling in love with feeling great and knew that I had to keep making the right food choices to ensure I remained vibrant and inspired. Eating plant based foods became a no brainer. Once I began feeding my body with vibrant food it began responding in positive ways from weight loss to true vitality, I was hooked.

The veggies fueled us and inspired Alex and I to start a wholesale company called PatisseRaw, and our products began appearing in many Whole Foods, health food stores and farmers markets. I began teaching classes and getting more into the educational aspect of food, and started Love-Fed.com. As my love grew for sharing my recipes and inspiration from nature, creativity, and my son Nova, I began writing my first cookbook, Love Fed: Purely Decadent and Completely Simple Raw, Plant-Based Desserts, which I’m thrilled to say is now available.

You can find her on her website, Facebook, or Instagram.

2 thoughts on “Review: Love Fed by Christina Ross

Leave a Reply

