Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books From My Childhood/Teen Years I Would Like to Revisit

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish, and I decided to share my list with all of you also!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is top ten books from my childhood/teen years I would like to revisit. This list is particularly hard for me because there are so many books that have began my love of reading. Shall we?

967494

1. The Mitten by Jan Brett. I remember this book when I was very, very young. I came across it in a store the other day and I remembered how much I loved this book.

900065

2. The Berenstain Bears by Stan and Jan Berenstain. I would read anything that said “The Berenstain Bears.” I also watched the TV show growing up and I even played the PC game.

14481

3. Amelia Bedelia by Peggy Parish. Oh my dear Amelia Bedelia. She could screw just about everything up, but boy can she cook!

537296

4. Frog and Toad Are Friends by Arnold Lobel. I loved the friendship in this one. I have such good memories with this book.

8073

5. Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs by Judi Barret. Still love this book like no tomorrow. Words cannot describe how happy I was when the book was adapted into a movie. And a sequel. Which were both fantastic, by the way.

1205572

6. Redwall by Brian Jacques. This book was like a lifeline for me growing up. I never read all the books in the series growing up, but I would love to soon.

233818

7. Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell. I remember when I was homeschooled, my mom made me read this book. I didn’t like the fact that I couldn’t pick out a book I wanted to read, so I expected this book to be terrible. I was very, very wrong. This book is amazing.

170609

8. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. This series is one of my favorite series to date. I went crazy when they were adapted into movies. I have read the entire series twice and read Prince Caspian four times.

766020

9. The Rainbow Fish by Marcus Pfister. Such a sweet book. The illustrations in this book are beautiful.

773951

 10. The Story of Ferdinand by Munro Leaf. This book relates to introverts all around. I loved the fact that the “hero” of the story was the most quiet and calm of them all.

This list was so hard to condense into only ten choices. There were so many books I truly loved that didn’t make the cut because my list is so much bigger than ten books. Books have been a huge part of my life, even before I could read. I would sit and stare at books for hours on end, in my own little world. Because reading is my world.

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books From My Childhood/Teen Years I Would Like to Revisit

  1. Me and my son have read and loved all the picture books you have on your list!! I personally LOVE Ferdinand and Cloudy w. a Chance of Meatballs so much. That exact Bernstein Bears book you have pictured there is a book I had as a kid that I found and gave to my son… and he loves it too. It’s so fun sharing books with the next generation 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh my goodness. Amelia Bedelia and and The Rainbow Fish were so great and I forgot about them. I literally LOVED The Rainbow Fish. I’m pretty sure I had a few rainbow fish bookmarks that I used until they fell apart.
    This is a great list. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tiesday: My Ten Favorite Top Ten Topics I Have Ever Done | onenightbookstandblog

Leave a Reply

