Review: Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

bonegap

Title: Bone Gap

Author: Laura Ruby

Publication Date: March 3, 2015

Excerpt from Goodreads:

Everyone knows Bone Gap is full of gaps—gaps to trip you up, gaps to slide through so you can disappear forever. So when young, beautiful Roza went missing, the people of Bone Gap weren’t surprised. After all, it wasn’t the first time that someone had slipped away and left Finn and Sean O’Sullivan on their own. Just a few years before, their mother had high-tailed it to Oregon for a brand new guy, a brand new life. That’s just how things go, the people said. Who are you going to blame?

Finn knows that’s not what happened with Roza. He knows she was kidnapped, ripped from the cornfields by a dangerous man whose face he cannot remember. But the searches turned up nothing, and no one believes him anymore. Not even Sean, who has more reason to find Roza than anyone, and every reason to blame Finn for letting her go.

As we follow the stories of Finn, Roza, and the people of Bone Gap—their melancholy pasts, their terrifying presents, their uncertain futures—acclaimed author Laura Ruby weaves a heartbreaking tale of love and loss, magic and mystery, regret and forgiveness—a story about how the face the world sees is never the sum of who we are.

Huge thanks to Epic Reads who provided a giveaway, in which I won this book!

I don’t even know where to begin with this review. Sometimes you read books that you enjoy, but somehow you don’t know how you feel about it. I liked the plot and characters, but I was just so confused until the end of the book. Right now I am still slightly confused… I feel like this is one of those books that you have to read multiple times to truly appreciate the story.

The descriptions in this book were outstanding. The author paints pictures like no other. I don’t think I have ever wanted to eat honey so badly while reading any book before now. I love food and when an author incorporates food in his/her novel, I’m a fan.

As for the characters, I really liked Finn. He was the only one who wanted to keep looking for Roza. Sean really grated my nerves. I couldn’t stand the fact that he just couldn’t believe his brother. I can understand how it might be hard to trust someone in that situation, but Finn is all Sean has. One would think that he would at least try to trust Finn.

The magic realism part is where I got really, really confused. I knew we would have a magic element in this book and I was expecting it, but it took awhile for slow, little me to realize what part of the book would actually be considered the “magic realism.”

While I did enjoy this book, it wasn’t over the top for me. I feel like I am out of the majority on reviews for this book because most reviews I have read so far have all been very positive. I liked this book, but I wasn’t blown away. That doesn’t mean I wouldn’t read this book again. I feel as if I read this book again one day, I can value the story even more.

3.5 out of 5 stars


Meet The Author

laura1-press

Laura Ruby writes fiction for adults, teens and children. Titles include the Edgar-nominated children’s mystery Lily’s Ghosts (now updated for 2011), the ALA Quick Pick for teens Good Girls (2006), and a collection of interconnected short stories about blended families for adults, I’m Not Julia Roberts (2007). She is also the author of the YA novel Bone Gap (2015) and the middle-grade trilogy York. She is on the faculty of Hamline University’s Masters in Writing for Children Program. She makes her home in the Chicago area.

You can find her on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, and her website.

5 thoughts on “Review: Bone Gap by Laura Ruby

  1. The book looks interesting at least! I don’t think I would enjoy the magic realism either though and I don’t like a book to be so confusing that I am left bewildered. Thanks for the honest review. I will skip this one.

    Like

  2. I am getting ready to start this one myself, and I am nervous! IT sounds good, I like a good ol mind screw….. But I am still really looking forward to it, and I hope that I love it as much as others have!

    Like

Leave a Reply

