Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Quotes From Books

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish, and I decided to share my list with all of you also!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is…Top Ten Inspiring Quotes From Books. Shall we?

1. “All monsters are scared. That’s why they’re monsters.” Neil Gaiman, The Ocean at the End of the Lane

2. “I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.” John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

3. “I want everyone to meet you. You’re my favorite person of all time.” Rainbow Rowell, Eleanor & Park

4. “The problem with people is that they forget that most of the time it’s the small things that count.” Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

5. “Words, I think, are such unpredictable creatures.
No gun, no sword, no army or king will ever be more powerful than a sentence. Swords may cut and kill, but words will stab and stay, burying themselves in our bones to become corpses we carry into the future, all the time digging and failing to rip their skeletons from our flesh.” Tahereh Mafi, Ignite Me

6. “One of the greatest gifts we all possess is the ability to give. Wealth isn’t a prerequisite; compassion and a kind heart are all you need. What better way to honor our loved ones, past and present, than to reach out and change a life for the better?” Joanne Huist Smith, The 13th Gift: A True Story of a Christmas Miracle

7. “Maybe you don’t have to figure life out at all. Maybe it just is.” Miranda Kenneally, Breathe, Annie, Breathe

8. “And maybe some people are like collages – no matter how broken or useless we felt, we were an essential part of the whole. We mattered.” Heather Demetrios, I’ll Meet You There

9. “…I like to be around all these books. They’re very good at making you forget your troubles. It’s like having a million friends, wrapped in paper and scrawled in ink.” Melissa Grey, The Girl at Midnight 

10. “Sometimes people stop loving you. And that’s the kind of darkness that never gets fixed, no matter how many moons rise again, filling the sky with a weak approximation of light.” Lauran Oliver, Vanishing Girls

Ah, so many pretty quotes. It was hard to pick just ten.

Let me know some of your favorite quotes in the comments below!

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Quotes From Books

  1. All very nice quotes, my fav out of the 10 is number

    9. “…I like to be around all these books. They’re very good at making you forget your troubles. It’s like having a million friends, wrapped in paper and scrawled in ink.” Melissa Grey, The Girl at Midnight

    That’s how I feel when I walk into a book store or look at my bookcases. >.<

    Like

  2. I love your #1. So well put. 🙂 I enjoyed that book. I love the John Green quote too. His books are always so full of great quotes. Thank you for sharing your favorites!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tiesday: My Ten Favorite Top Ten Topics I Have Ever Done | onenightbookstandblog

Leave a Reply

