Review: In A World Just Right by Jen Brooks

18304348

Title: In A World Just Right

Author: Jen Brooks

Publication Date: April 28, 2015

Excerpt from Goodreads:

High school senior Jonathan Aubrey creates worlds at will. In Kylie-Simms-is-my-girlfriend, he’s given himself everything he doesn’t have in real life-–the track team, passing grades, and his dream girl–-until one day he confuses his worlds and almost kisses the real Kylie Simms. Now his girlfriend Kylie and the real Kylie are changing, and Jonathan must solve the mystery of his own life to save his love from a gruesome fate.

Huge thanks to the publisher for providing me with a copy of this book via Edelweiss in exchange for a honest and unbiased review.

Jonathan Aubrey is a world maker. Basically he can make any world he wants. This includes, but not limited to, a world where fairies or aliens exist, a world where everything is medieval, or a would that is related to a dream he had. Heck, he could create Narnia if he felt like it. I’m pretty sure if I was a world maker I would create a world where Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory existed or The Doctor… I just loved the idea of world making! It felt so original and I really enjoyed this concept.

The first fifty percent of this book was well paced and was pretty good at capturing my attention. While you are reading, you believe in Jonathan’s one goal, which is how to get the real Kylie, not the one he made up, to fall in love with him. I thought that once this goal was reached, Jonathan and Kylie would skip into the sunset and live happily ever after, but it’s never that easy is it? I was reading along thinking I had it ALL figured out then, BAM! Plot twist.

I didn’t realize how much I would enjoy this book until I had finished it. This was one of those books that hadn’t been under my radar much and it was a quick decision to go ahead and read it. I loved Jonathan and his worlds. I truly felt for Jonathan and what life had put him through. The ending was that kind of bittersweet that makes your heart hurt, but you wouldn’t have wished for the outcome to change one bit. In A World Just Right is a raw and emotional book about loss and the journey to find real and unconditional love.

4 out of 5 stars


Meet The Author

Ringler Associates

Jen has a habit of being deeply moved by profound ideas, and her writing reflects her interest in exploring human goodness, relationships, and the feeling of being a part of something greater than oneself. She loves the science fiction and fantasy genres because of their dazzling possibilities for portraying characters and ideas. She credits her undergraduate experience at Dartmouth College, her MFA at Seton Hill University, and her fourteen years of English teaching with shaping her writing.  She is grateful to her family, friends, and students for inspiring her to write.

You can find her on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, and her website.

6 thoughts on “Review: In A World Just Right by Jen Brooks

  1. I am reading this one soon, and I am looking forward to it. You are absolutely right, the thought, the idea, of world making is absolutely awesome! I am happy that there is some angst to get the ending. Definitely can’t wait to get started

    Like

  2. I have a review copy of this one so I should be reading it pretty soon and am looking forward to doing so! I also think that the idea of this one is unique. I am a fan of books involving parallel universes already as well, so looking good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

