DNF Review: Where You End by Anna Pellicioli

where

Title: Where You End

Author: Anna Pellicioli

Publication Date: June 8, 2015

Excerpt from Goodreads:

Miriam Feldman was always attracted to the artists, the musicians, the boys who wore broken-down cardigans. Boys like Elliot. Their relationship was intense, passionate, all consuming. When they were together, Miriam knew who she was, in the way you can only know when you’re deeply in love. But then it ended, and Miriam had to move on. Even after Elliot started seeing someone else. Even after she impulsively destroyed a priceless work of art. Even after she was blackmailed by the mystery girl who saw her do it. After all this, Miriam had to go on with her life. If only she knew how.

I received a copy of this book for free via NetGalley in exchange for a honest and unbiased review. Thanks to the publisher, Flux, for this book.

I began reading this book a few months ago. It didn’t work for me then and I decided to put it down and read it another day. This book couldn’t pull me in then and it couldn’t pull me in now.

The story starts out with a girl, Miriam, and how she is upset over her recent breakup with her ex-boyfriend, Elliot. In an attempt to let out some pent up anger, she pushes and destroys a sculpture. And not just any sculpture. This sculpture was sculpted by the one and only, Picasso. When a girl witnesses Miriam’s outburst, she decides to blackmail her.

Now all this happens within the first chapters and I’m afraid it didn’t gain my attention in the slightest. I decided to check on a few reviews on Goodreads and most seemed “meh” regarding this book. I rarely do this, but I went to the last page of the book to read the ending. *Highlight Spoiler* The book ends with Miriam addressing an apology letter to the curator in regards to the sculpture she destroyed. I’m sure the book doesn’t revolve around this completely, but it wasn’t enough to compel me to finish reading it.

DNF around 20%. Most of the time I will read about half a book before I decided to stop reading. As for this book, I put it down fairly quickly. After reading Goodreads reviews and the ending of this book, I concluded that I wasn’t going to finish this book. There wasn’t anything particularly bad about this book, I just didn’t connect with the main character and the story content wasn’t enough to keep me reading. I have so many more books to read and I don’t want to spend my time on one that is mediocre.

1 out of 5 stars


Meet The Author

5669

Anna Pellicioli (Istanbul, Turkey) was born in Italy, the third of five children.  Since then, she has moved to seven different countries, including France, Nepal and Russia.  She graduated from Barnard College and earned a Masters in Education from Columbia University.  Before writing books, she taught high school English and Literacy.  She now lives in Istanbul with her husband and three children. Her other loves include walking in the woods, swimming in the ocean, and reading  picture books aloud.

You can find her on Goodreads.

2 thoughts on “DNF Review: Where You End by Anna Pellicioli

  1. I gave this 3.5 (well, 4 on my blog). I loved the writing , and that is what kept me reading. Miriam is sort of depressing and I could relate to her somewhat. I still don’t get why the author chose to add Paloma to the story. It didn’t make sense.

    Like

Leave a Reply

