Waiting on Wednesday: A Study In Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

This is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine.  “Waiting on Wednesday” spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

Title: A Study in Charlotte

Author: Brittany Cavallaro

Publication Date: March 1, 2016

23272028

Excerpt from Goodreads:

The last thing sixteen-year-old Jamie Watson–writer and great-great-grandson of the John Watson–wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, a Connecticut prep school just an hour away from his estranged father. But that’s not the only complication: Sherringford is also home to Charlotte Holmes, the famous detective’s enigmatic, fiercely independent great-great-granddaughter, who’s inherited not just his genius but also his vices, volatile temperament, and expertly hidden vulnerability. Charlotte has been the object of his fascination for as long as he can remember–but from the moment they meet, there’s a tense energy between them, and they seem more destined to be rivals than anything else.

Then a Sherringford student dies under suspicious circumstances ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Holmes stories, and Jamie and Charlotte become the prime suspects. Convinced they’re being framed, they must race against the police to conduct their own investigation. As danger mounts, it becomes clear that nowhere is safe and the only people they can trust are each other.

Equal parts tender, thrilling, and hilarious, A Study in Charlotte is the first in a trilogy brimming with wit and edge-of-the-seat suspense.

I’m always up for a new take on Sherlock and Watson! Hopefully this one lives up to my expectations!!

Advertisements

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish, and I decided to share my list with all of you also!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is…Top Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds. Shall we?

park

1. Eleanor and Park in Eleanor & Park

Not sure if you have read this adorable contemporary yet, but you should. Sharing comics/graphic novels are how Eleanor and Park become friends.

20345202

2. Echo in The Girl At Midnight

Echo not only lives in a library, but her room is filled to the brim with books…kind of like my room…

19063

3. Liesel in The Book Thief

Liesel steals books. With those stolen books, she learns how to read and even shares the stolen books with others.

11870085

4. Hazel Grace in The Fault In Our Stars

Hazel has so much love for a particular author and his book, that she travels all the way to Amsterdam to meet him.

I know this is only four books, but I honestly couldn’t think of any more. At least any that I have actually read. Boo. Oh well.

Do you know of any other characters that are fellow book nerds that I might have missed?

Review: Off The Page by Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

23278280

Title: Off The Page

Author: Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

Publication Date: May 19, 2015

Excerpt from Goodreads:

From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and co-writer, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and magical relationships.

Sixteen-year-old Delilah is finally united with Oliver—a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale. There are, however, complications now that Oliver has been able to enter the real world. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to take Oliver’s role in Delilah’s favorite book. In this multilayered universe, the line between what is on the page and what is possible is blurred, but all must be resolved for the characters to live happily ever after. Includes twelve full-color illustrations, and black-and-white decorations throughout.

Full of humor and witty commentary about life, OFF THE PAGE is a stand-alone novel as well as a companion to the authors’ bestseller Between the Lines, and is perfect for readers looking for a fairytale ending. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot are sure to appreciate this novel about love, romance, and relationships.

Now that Oliver is finally out of the storybook and in the real world, Delilah and Oliver can finally be together. For Oliver to stay in the real world, someone had to take his place inside the book. Edgar, who just so happens to be the storybook’s author’s son and looks exactly like Oliver, takes Oliver’s place inside the storybook. While Oliver is trying to navigate the wonder that is high school and day to day life, Edgar is inside the storybook changing the entire plot to match his favorite video game. Things start to go awry when the storybook begins to reject Edgar’s changes to the story. The storybook begins to call for Oliver, asking him to come back. That’s when things start to get crazy…

I LOVED Oliver! He is whimsical, enthusiastic, and utterly hilarious. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Oliver navigate through high school. I loved how he saw everyone as a friend and didn’t take notice cliques. The answers he left on his quizzes (especially chemistry) had me giggling. No matter who are you, you will love Oliver. As for the other characters, I didn’t disliked a single one!

I often have trouble reading books that aren’t crazy page turners, but I didn’t have that problem at all with this book! Off The Page is a wonderful, light-hearted read full of beautiful illustrations that even non-contemporary readers would enjoy.

Off The Page is a stand-alone novel, but also a companion to Between The Lines. I haven’t read Between The Lines and I had no trouble following along with this book. I definitely want to read Between the Lines now because of how much I enjoyed Off The Page.

4 out of 5 stars


Meet The Authors

7128

Jodi Picoult is the author of twenty-two novels, including the #1 New York Times bestsellers The Storyteller, Lone Wolf, Between the Lines, Sing You Home, House Rules, Handle with Care, Change of Heart, Nineteen Minutes, and My Sister’s Keeper. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband and three children.

You can find her on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest,

 5106204

She conceived the idea for Between the Lines and pitched it to her mom, Jodi Picoult, who was in the middle of a book tour. In her spare time, Samantha can be found playing softball, doing contemporary dance, acting and singing in musicals, and cuddling on the ground with her two dogs, Dudley and Oliver—for whom the prince in this fairy tale was named.

Waiting on Wednesday

This is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine.  “Waiting on Wednesday” spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

Title: The Land of 10,000 Madonnas

Author: Kate Hattemer

Publication Date: April 19, 2016

18520654

Excerpt from Goodreads:

Five teens backpack through Europe to fulfill the mysterious dying wish of their friend in this heartwarming novel from the author of The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy.

Jesse lives with his history professor dad in a house covered with postcards of images of the Madonna from all over the world. They’re gotten used to this life: two motherless dudes living among thousands of Madonnas. But Jesse has a heart condition that will ultimately cut his life tragically short. Before he dies, he arranges a mysterious trip to Europe for his three cousins, his best friend, and his girlfriend to take after he passes away. It’s a trip that will forever change the lives of these young teens and one that will help them come to terms with Jesse’s death.

With vivid writing, poignant themes, and abundant doses of humor throughout, Kate Hattemer’s second novel is a satisfying journey about looking for someone else’s answers only to find yourself.

Who doesn’t love a good road trip story?

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish, and I decided to share my list with all of you also!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is…Top Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity. Shall we?

23398869

1. Ana of California by Andi Teran

This book’s MC is very proud of her Mexican heritage and we even have secondary characters with Native American heritage.

 18798983

2. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Full of Arabian culture, this book is the definition of diversity!

22840182

3. The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

A bi-racial romance and a girl who can’t speak? This is a diverse book you need on your shelf now.

22701879

4. Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

The MC in this book is blind. I have never read a book with a character with this disability before.

one

5. One by Sarah Crossan

A book about conjoined twins. This book is as unique as it gets.

18713071

6. Scarlett Undercover by Jennifer Latham

The MC in this book is Muslim American. Yet another unique book.

park

7. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor comes from an abusive household and Park is half-Korean.

17661416

8. Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

This book follows a MC dealing with schizophrenia.

5 to 1

9. 5 to 1 by Holly Bodger

This book is set in India in which woman have the upper hand.

15749186

10. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

I actually haven’t read this one, but the MC is Korean American and many people seem to love this book!