Review: 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

22836575

Title: 99 Days

Author: Katie Cotugno

Publication Date: April 21, 2015

Excerpt from Goodreads:

Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that’s how I know everyone still remembers everything—how I destroyed my relationship with Patrick the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. How I wrecked their whole family. Now I’m serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college, and be done.

Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn’t finished. I’m expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it’s just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. “For what it’s worth, Molly Barlow,” he says, “I’m really glad you’re back.”

Day 12: Gabe got me to come to this party, and I’m actually having fun. I think he’s about to kiss me—and that’s when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who’s supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who’s never going to forgive me.

Big thanks to EpicReads! I won this book on their website, this does not effect my review and all thoughts and opinions are my own.

I feel like this is going to be such a messy review, because this was such a messy book so please bear with me!

Ok, flashback a year ago. Molly and Patrick have been together well practically since forever. They grew up together and they have dated for as long as anyone can remember. After a particularly bad fight with Patrick, Molly sleeps with Patrick’s brother, Gabe. No one knows about the incident except Molly and Gabe, until Molly’s mother releases a bestseller novel based on her daughter’s affair with Gabe. Now the whole town knows about Molly and Gabe and Molly is terrorizing constantly.

Now lets get back to the present. After finishing high school in the a private school in New York, Molly is back in town. Returning with her house egged by Julia Donnelly, Patrick and Gabe’s sister, feels like a bad omen for the rest of summer. At first Molly stays locked up in her room away from the rest of the world, then decides to get out the house. Molly starts running again which ends up landing herself a job. The same job where Patrick’s current girlfriend also works. Molly also begins hanging out with Gabe…

This was such an easy read, which is why I flew through it so fast, but the story itself is quite complicated and messy. It was the characters that really killed it for me. Molly’s decision making skills are very lacking. One would think she would have learned from her previous mistakes given how grave the previous outcome was. She wasn’t the only one who made poor decisions, so I’ll cut her some slack. As for Gabe, I really liked him, especially in the beginning. Patrick, well, he is just as guilty as Molly and deserves just as much judgment as Molly received.

If you don’t mind love triangles, drama, and very complicated relationships, then you just might love this book. But this book is also about second chances, standing up for yourself, and taking ownership of your mistakes. While the character’s poor decisions frustrated me beyond belief, they only made the book more realistic. This book is quite the emotional roller-coaster with a positive message.

3 out of 5 stars


Meet The Author

6921953

Katie Cotugno went to Catholic school for thirteen years which makes her, as an adult, both extremely superstitious and prone to crushes on boys wearing blazers. She routinely finds herself talking about the romantic endeavors of characters on TV shows as if they actually exist in the world.

The great loves of Katie’s life include child’s pose, her little sister, and mozzarella and honey sandwiches. She lives in Boston (and in sin) with her boyfriend, Tom.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, and her website.

2 thoughts on “Review: 99 Days by Katie Cotugno

  1. I’ve been wanting to read this one! I really enjoyed How to Love by her so I’m looking forward to 99 days. I’m sure I’ll get frustrated with all the messiness but I like how you mention it makes the book realistic.

    Great review by the way.

    Tina @ Tina, The Bookworm

    Like

Leave a Reply

