Review: Suicide Notes From Beautiful Girls by Lynn Weingarten

18244970

Title: Suicide Notes From Beautiful Girls

Author: Lynn Weingarten

Publication Date: July 7, 2015

Excerpt from Amazon:

Gone Girl meets 13 Reasons Why in this stylish, sexy, and atmospheric story about friendship packed with twists and turns that will leave you breathless.

They say Delia burned herself to death in her stepfather’s shed. They say it was suicide.

But June doesn’t believe it.

June and Delia used to be closer than anything. Best friends in that way that comes before everyone else—before guys, before family. It was like being in love, but more. They had a billion secrets, tying them together like thin silk cords.

But one night a year ago, everything changed. June, Delia, and June’s boyfriend Ryan were just having a little fun. Their good time got out of hand. And in the cold blue light of morning, June knew only this—things would never be the same again.

And now, a year later, Delia is dead. June is certain she was murdered. And she owes it to her to find out the truth…which is far more complicated than she ever could have imagined.

Sexy, dark, and atmospheric, Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls will keep you guessing until the very last page.

I was provided a copy of this book for free via Edelweiss in exchange for a honest and unbiased review. Thanks to the publisher, Simon Teen.

The excerpt for this book states “Gone Girl meets 13 Reasons Why.” Now I totally see the Gone Girl similarity…the entire book is set up exactly like Gone Girl. If you have read Gone Girl, you can take an educated guess about the entire story setup. I have also read 13 Reasons Why and honestly, I’m not sure why this book is compared to 13 Reasons Why. Yes, this book also deals with suicide, in a way, but not like 13 Reasons Why does. If you have read this book and you understand the comparison, then please let me know what I have missed.

This story starts out from June’s perspective. June was once best friends with Delia. Now that Delia is dead, June feels responsible. Especially since Delia called her before the suicide took place and June never picked up her phone. Once June meets Delia’s late boyfriend, she begins to wonder if Delia’s death wasn’t suicide, but murder instead.

I feel like there is a huge chunk of this book I have to leave out of this review, otherwise it will completely spoil the entire book. Like I said earlier, if you have read Gone Girl, then you probably can predict most of the content within this book. But if you haven’t read Gone Girl, you are in for quite the treat.

Even though the “plot twist” wasn’t much of a surprise to me, I still really enjoyed the mystery. I practically read this book in one sitting, which is saying a lot because I RARELY read books in one sitting. This book had zero trouble in grabbing my attention from the very beginning and holding it until the very ending. This is one of the biggest compliments I can give any book.

And oh my, that ending. While some people might not enjoy it, I thought it was perfect. It was open-ended in a way that gives you some conclusion, but you mainly have to assume what happens. All and all, this book was quite the captivating read and I think anyone who enjoys a good mystery/thriller will enjoy this book! I will definitely be picking up other books by this author!

4 out of 5 stars


Meet The Author

1818261

Lynn Weingarten is a writer and a book editor. Her first young adult novel, Wherever Nina Lies, was published by Scholastic Point. It was named an ALA Top Ten Popular Paperback for Young Adults, a New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age, a YALSA Teen’s Top Ten Nominee, a Sequoyah Book Award Nominee, has been translated into German and was featured on NPR’s All Things Considered where Alan Cheuse said, “[it] reminds you of the really great voice of teenage characters, like, say, Holden Caulfield in ‘Catcher in the Rye.’”

Her fourth book, Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls, was just released by SimonPulse in the US (and Egmont/Electric Monkey in the UK) in July 2015. It was on Vanity Fair’s list of Best Books for July and was on Paste Magazine’s list 10 of the Best New YA Books For July.

In the past, Lynn worked as an editor/content developer at Alloy Entertainment. Lynn is currently a part-time editor/content developer at Working Partners.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, and her website.

One thought on “Review: Suicide Notes From Beautiful Girls by Lynn Weingarten

  1. I haven’t read Gone Girl myself so I believe that it will be quite a surprise to me! In fact. I haven’t read the other novel this book was compared to either. I have heard a lot of good things about this one and the premise certainly does sound interesting. I am going to add it to my TBR!

    Like

Leave a Reply

