Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish, and I decided to share my list with all of you also!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is…Top Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity.ย Shall we?

23398869

1. Ana of California by Andi Teran

This book’s MC is very proud of her Mexican heritage and we even have secondary characters with Native American heritage.

ย 18798983

2. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Full of Arabian culture, this book is the definition of diversity!

22840182

3. The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

A bi-racial romance and a girl who can’t speak? This is a diverse book you need on your shelf now.

22701879

4. Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

The MC in this book is blind. I have never read a book with a character with this disability before.

one

5. One by Sarah Crossan

A book about conjoined twins. This book is as unique as it gets.

18713071

6. Scarlett Undercover by Jennifer Latham

Theย MC in this book is Muslim American. Yet another unique book.

park

7. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor comes from an abusive household and Park is half-Korean.

17661416

8. Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

This book follows a MC dealing with schizophrenia.

5 to 1

9. 5 to 1 by Holly Bodger

This book is set in India in which woman have the upper hand.

15749186

10. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

I actually haven’t read this one, but the MC is Korean American and many people seem to love this book!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That Celebrate Diversity

  1. This is a great list! I want to read The Wrath of the Dawn (like so many others!). The more I hear about it, the more interested I become. ๐Ÿ™‚ 5 to 1 is one I just discovered last night thanks to someone else listing it and, I have to say, it sure sounds good! From your list, I have only read Eleanor and Park. I really liked that one.

    Like

  2. The only one I have read on this list is Made You Up and it was definitely a diverse read. I have seen the cover for One but I never knew it was about conjoined twins! I need to try that book for sure at some point now !!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

