Review: Off The Page by Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

23278280

Title: Off The Page

Author: Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

Publication Date: May 19, 2015

Excerpt from Goodreads:

From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and co-writer, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and magical relationships.

Sixteen-year-old Delilah is finally united with Oliver—a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale. There are, however, complications now that Oliver has been able to enter the real world. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to take Oliver’s role in Delilah’s favorite book. In this multilayered universe, the line between what is on the page and what is possible is blurred, but all must be resolved for the characters to live happily ever after. Includes twelve full-color illustrations, and black-and-white decorations throughout.

Full of humor and witty commentary about life, OFF THE PAGE is a stand-alone novel as well as a companion to the authors’ bestseller Between the Lines, and is perfect for readers looking for a fairytale ending. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot are sure to appreciate this novel about love, romance, and relationships.

Now that Oliver is finally out of the storybook and in the real world, Delilah and Oliver can finally be together. For Oliver to stay in the real world, someone had to take his place inside the book. Edgar, who just so happens to be the storybook’s author’s son and looks exactly like Oliver, takes Oliver’s place inside the storybook. While Oliver is trying to navigate the wonder that is high school and day to day life, Edgar is inside the storybook changing the entire plot to match his favorite video game. Things start to go awry when the storybook begins to reject Edgar’s changes to the story. The storybook begins to call for Oliver, asking him to come back. That’s when things start to get crazy…

I LOVED Oliver! He is whimsical, enthusiastic, and utterly hilarious. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Oliver navigate through high school. I loved how he saw everyone as a friend and didn’t take notice cliques. The answers he left on his quizzes (especially chemistry) had me giggling. No matter who are you, you will love Oliver. As for the other characters, I didn’t disliked a single one!

I often have trouble reading books that aren’t crazy page turners, but I didn’t have that problem at all with this book! Off The Page is a wonderful, light-hearted read full of beautiful illustrations that even non-contemporary readers would enjoy.

Off The Page is a stand-alone novel, but also a companion to Between The Lines. I haven’t read Between The Lines and I had no trouble following along with this book. I definitely want to read Between the Lines now because of how much I enjoyed Off The Page.

4 out of 5 stars


Meet The Authors

7128

Jodi Picoult is the author of twenty-two novels, including the #1 New York Times bestsellers The Storyteller, Lone Wolf, Between the Lines, Sing You Home, House Rules, Handle with Care, Change of Heart, Nineteen Minutes, and My Sister’s Keeper. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband and three children.

You can find her on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest,

 5106204

She conceived the idea for Between the Lines and pitched it to her mom, Jodi Picoult, who was in the middle of a book tour. In her spare time, Samantha can be found playing softball, doing contemporary dance, acting and singing in musicals, and cuddling on the ground with her two dogs, Dudley and Oliver—for whom the prince in this fairy tale was named.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Review: Off The Page by Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

  1. This book sounds so adorable! I haven’t read any of Jodi Picoult’s work, mainly because I usually read fantasy – but I think this title had enough magic in it for me to be intrigue. It sounds absolutely charming by your review. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    Like

  2. I am someone who actually doesn’t mind it not being a crazy page turner as long as the characters are very realistic and immersing. And from the way you describe Oliver it was just that indeed! I am looking forward to trying this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s