Review: Six Impossible Things by Fiona Wood

23250087

Title: Six Impossible Things

Author: Fiona Wood

Publication Date: August 11, 2015

Excerpt from Goodreads:

Fourteen year old nerd-boy Dan Cereill is not quite coping with a reversal of family fortune, moving house, new school hell, a mother with a failing wedding cake business, a just-out gay dad, and an impossible crush on Estelle, the girl next door. His life is a mess, but for now he’s narrowed it down to just six impossible things…

I received this book for free via The Novl Newsletter in exchange for a honest and unbiased review.

Dan Cereill’s father just announced he’s gay and moves out the house. Also, the company is bankrupt and their home and possessions are to be seized by the bank. Dan also has to deal with a new school, where he doesn’t know a soul, and getting a job to keep him and his mother afloat. Conveniently, the death of great-aunt Adelaide has left Dan and his mother with a house to live in. Basically, Dan’s life is currently a disaster.

Oh, he’s also fallen for the beautiful girl next door, Estelle. But, instead of trying to strike up a conversation with her like most people would, he spies on her. Now I understand he is a fourteen year old boy, but come one. He goes into the attic one day and finds that their attics are adjoined and she has a secret room filled with her stuff. What does he do? He goes through all of her belongings. I mean, ALL OF IT. He reads all of her diaries, goes through all her desk drawers. This stalker-esque vibe that Dan puts off in the beginning of the book really threw me off. I had a hard time liking Dan and connecting with him due to his actions. Eventually, Dan and Estelle do begin to talk and start spending time with one another. The only problem I had with this was that it felt like they were friends all of a sudden. Not much development.

We do see Dan develop throughout the book, which I really appreciated. He settles into school and makes new friends, he gets a job to help with the finances and even helps his mom find a suitable job, and he is learning how to come to terms with his father’s coming out. I wish that Dan and his relationship with his mother and his father were explored a little more. I feel like that would have added more depth to the story.

While I didn’t love this book, I didn’t hate it either. I felt like this book was focused on Dan’s obsession with Estelle and I wanted more than that. I also had trouble reading this book as I didn’t connect with any of the characters. This book just couldn’t grab my attention and I was bored. Even though this book didn’t work for me, I still suggest you give it a go! Many people seem to like this book so far, but it just missed its mark with me.

2.5 out of 5 stars


Meet The Author

fiona-wood-photo

Fiona Wood is the author of young adult novels, Six Impossible Things and Wildlife. Her third book, Cloudwish, will be out next year. Before writing YA fiction, Fiona worked as a television scriptwriter for twelve years, writing everything from soap, and one-hour adult drama, to children’s drama. Prior to this she dropped out of law and completed an arts degree, both at Melbourne University, worked in marketing and in arts management, did some freelance journalism, and studied screenwriting at RMIT. She has served as a judge for the AWGIE Awards (Australian Writers’ Guild) and is an ambassador for The Stella Prize Schools Program. She has two YA children, and lives in Melbourne with her husband.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, and her website.

2 thoughts on “Review: Six Impossible Things by Fiona Wood

  1. Woah, that IS a really weird stalker-vibe coming from the character… not sure I would enjoy that too! The book has such a cute cover though…hmm, I’ll definitely have to see about reading this one. Great review!! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

