Read It & Eat: Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

Read It & Eat is a new feature I am starting on my blog. I love to read and I also love to eat. In this feature I take food I find in books and find recipes to match that food. I then start cooking! Has there ever been a time when you are reading a book and a particular character(s) is eating something and you can’t help but think of what that would taste like? Well I do. Practically with almost every book I read! That is how I came up with this idea.

Today’s inspiration came from Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

You can check out my review of Emmy & Oliver here.

“You already know?” Oliver said, not taking his eyes off the menu. “Yep. Same thing every time. Potato and guacamole burrito, green juice. It balance out the guacamole,” I added when Oliver side-eyed me.

“I’m not sure that’s how nutrition works, Emmy.”

IMG_0310

Beef & Potato Burritos
Makes 6 burritos
  • 1 lb 93% lean ground sirloin, cooked with half a packet of taco seasoning
  • 3 small-medium golden potatoes, diced and cooked until fork tender
  • 1 1/2 cup shredded Mexican blend cheese
  • Big burrito tortillas
  • Optional-black bean and corn mixture (I just used black beans)
  • Fat free sour cream

Mix all ingredients except sour cream and tortillas in a large bowl.  Scoop in each of the 6 burritos about 1/2 cup of the mixture and add about a tablespoon of sour cream to each.  Roll it up tight!

Original recipe from Attack of the Hungry Monster.

5 Ingredient Guacamole

  • 3 avocados
  • 2 tomatoes (I only used 1, my tomatoes were bigger)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 lime
  • salt

Scrape out the middle of the avocados into a mixing bowl. Add the juice of one lime and mash them all up to the consistency you want. Cut the tomatoes, garlic, & salt & mix all around.

Original recipe from Ma Nouvelle Mode.

I have never had anything like this burrito before. It definitely has a flavor all its own, but I really enjoyed it! It is super simple to make, plus it’s healthy! Keep in mind that I modified the original recipes and feel free to do so on your own. I definitely recommend this recipe and I’m sure it would be even better with a Panini press!

Do you have any particular recipes you would like me to try? Let me know in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Read It & Eat: Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

Leave a Reply

