Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That Would Be On My Syllabus If I Taught Fantasy 101

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish, and I decided to share my list with all of you also!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is…Top Ten Books That Would Be On My Syllabus If I Taught Fantasy 101. Shall we?

18798983

1. The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

This book is easily one of my favorite books this year. A wonderful read if you love fantasy.

205999

2. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

I was seriously obsessed with Lord Of The Rings movies when I was younger. When I finally got around to reading the books, The Hobbit was easily my favorite of them all. Funny enough, I have yet to watch the movies for this book.

poseidon

3. The Syrena Legacy Series by Anna Banks

Mermaids anyone? I haven’t read a ton of books with mermaids, but this series knocks it out of the park.

23278280

4. Off The Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer

This book is a mix of contemporary and fantasy, which makes it very believable. I had so much fun with this book and the illustrations inside were to die for!

dorhoty

5. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

This dark retelling of The Wizard of Oz is a must read in my opinion!

3236307

6. Graceling by Kristin Cashore

This book was so much fun and it handled issues that many young adult novels avoided at the time.

2767052

7. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Because duh, it’s a classic.

shatter

8. Shatter Me Series by Taheren Mafi

If you follow my blog pretty regularly, then you know that I am obsessed with this book! It is beautiful and perfect in every way! Plus, it’s going to be a TV show!! *SQUEALS*

Book Cover

9. The Madman’s Daughter Series by Megan Shepherd

This dark, gothic novel is beautiful and such a thrilling read! I have read the first two installments in the series and plan to read the third and final installment soon!

170609

10. The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

My mom has told me that I have always been a reader, even before I could actually read! But I believe that this series, The Chronicles of Narnia, is really what fueled my passion for reading! I have read Price Caspian four times already!

What are some books you would include in your syllabus if you taught Fantasy 101?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That Would Be On My Syllabus If I Taught Fantasy 101

  1. I’ve been curious about Dorothy Must Die, but then I second guessed wanting to read it, but now I’m going to put it back on my TBR list. Great list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

