Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431

Title: Everything, Everything

Author: Niolca Yoon

Publication Date: September 1, 2015

Synopsis from Goodreads:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. Huge thanks to Random House Kids.

Everything, Everything is about a girl named Maddy who has a very rare disease. Her disease is called SCID. SCID is what causes Maddy to be allergic to everything in the outside world. Her life is very structured and dull. She has done the same things every week for almost her whole life.

Until Olly. Olly changes everything. When Olly moves in next door, Maddy can’t help but be intrigued. Soon they become online friends and Maddy even convinces her nurse to sneak him in her home for face to face conversations. When Maddy’s mother find out that she has been sneaking around with Olly, she quickly ends it. This causes Maddy to makes some rash decisions. What Maddy doesn’t know is that these decisions are about to drastically change her life.

I seriously loved this book! I’m such a fan of romance, especially when done right and this romance was done perfectly. I couldn’t get enough of Maddy and Olly. I loved their conversations and interactions! It was all so perfect!

This book also includes some of Maddy’s drawings, IM conversations, invoices, and lists! Although I love words, I really enjoy when a book includes images along with the story. I feel like it adds a little some special to the book! And boy, is this book special.

This book wasn’t under my radar much until recently, but I am so, so glad it caught my attention. It’s hard to me to find a contemporary I really love because I feel like many contemporaries are so similar these days! I love finding a fresh, new story!

Everything, Everything ended with a serious bang. There was also an insane plot twist that I DID NOT see coming! I love when this happens, because it doesn’t happen often for me! If you are a fan of contemporary, please pick up this book. You’re going to love it!

4.5 out 5 stars


Meet The Author

7353006

Nicola Yoon grew up in Jamaica (the island) and Brooklyn (part of Long Island). She currently resides in Los Angeles, CA with her husband and daughter, both of whom she loves beyond all reason. Everything, Everything is her first novel.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, and her website.

10 thoughts on “Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. So glad that you loved this one! I stayed up all night reading it back in July. I figured out the twist before it even happened because something was just not right. But still, I loved it! Great review!

    Like

  2. Great review! I have been considering to pick this book up once it came out. I was originally hesitant since I don’t usually read contemporary but this sounds amazing! 🙂

    Also, I wanted to let you know I have nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award. If you have already done it don’t worry about it but I still wanted to let you know you have a kick butt blog.
    Here is the link to the award post: http://idioticbookreviews.blogspot.ca/2015/08/sisterhood-of-world-bloggers-award.htm

    Like

Leave a Reply

