Review: Vegeance Road by Erin Bowman

23719270

Title: Vengeance Road

Author: Erin Bowman

Publication Date: September 1, 2015

Synopsis from Goodreads:

When Kate Thompson’s father is killed by the notorious Rose Riders for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, the eighteen-year-old disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers and justice. What she finds are devious strangers, dust storms, and a pair of brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, she gets closer to the truth about herself and must decide if there’s room for love in a heart so full of hate.

I received this book for free via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest and unbiased reviews. Big thanks to HMH Books for Young Readers.

After her father is murdered by the nortorious Rose Riders, Kate Thompson makes it her priority to kill the men who murdered her father. Forced to disguise herself as a boy, now known as Nate, she heads out to meet Abe Colton – someone her father told her to meet if he ever got into trouble. Once Kate learns that Abe has passed, she plans to quickly pick up her journey where she left off. When Abe’s sons, Jesse and Will, learn that Kate plans to travel alone, they convince her to let them tag along. Jesse and Will have yet to realize that “Nate” is actually a girl. 
 
My oh my, this story was nonstop from beginning to end. You immediately are thrown into this beautiful Western world. We meet some lovely characters along the way and some not so lovely characters. I thoroughly enjoyed Jess and Will’s banter and Lil is a character I won’t soon forget.  As for Kate, she was downright awesome! I love reading about a strong female character that can handle her own, but still goes out of her way for others. I especially loved the development that we see with Kate along her journey.
 
I had such a good time reading this book! I wasn’t sure what to expect because I wasn’t a huge fan of True Grit, but this book was a blast! I also wasn’t certain how I was going to feel with the story told in Western dialect, but I truly loved it!  I loved reading the phrases Kate would say and I honestly would love using a few! The dialect made this story all the more special. Plus I LOVE that it’s a Western, as the only Westerns I have read is The Little House on the Prairie. This book has a wonderful plot twist, one that I did not expect in the slightest and made the book that much more delightful! I love this book, I just love it. 
 
If you haven’t read this book yet, what in the tarnation are you waiting for?!
4 out of 5 stars

Meet The Author

4774653

Erin Bowman used to tell stories visually as a web designer. Now a full-time writer, she relies solely on words. She lives in New Hampshire with her family and when not writing she can often be found hiking, commenting on good typography, and obsessing over all things Harry Potter.

Erin is represented by Sara Crowe of Harvey Klinger. She is the author of Taken, Frozen, and Forged (4/14/15) from HarperTeen. Vengeance Road is forthcoming from HMH (9/1/15).

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Tumbler, Pinterest, YouTube, Instagram, and her website.

7 thoughts on “Review: Vegeance Road by Erin Bowman

  1. I have been hearing so many amazing things about this novel and I have never heard of or read a YA Western kind of book myself. I love the idea of this book being a go getter and you being sucked in from beginning to end. On my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

