Review: Truest by Jackie Lea Sommers

19370252

Title: Truest

Author: Jackie Lea Sommers

Publication Date: September 1, 2015

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Silas Hart has seriously shaken up Westlin Beck’s small-town life. Brand new to town, Silas is different than the guys in Green Lake. He’s curious, poetic, philosophical, maddening– and really, really cute. But Silas has a sister– and she has a secret. And West has a boyfriend. And life in Green Lake is about to change forever.

Truest is a stunning, addictive debut. Romantic, fun, tender, and satisfying, it asks as many questions as it answers.

I received this book for free via Edelweiss from the publisher in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. Thanks to the publisherKatherine Tegen Books.
 
I’m not entirely sure what to think of this book. On one hand, it did discuss a disorder I wasn’t familiar with, which was interesting, and I did like certain characters in the book. On the other hand, this book wasn’t very extraordinary and it’s going to be a forgettable story. I had to force myself to sit and read this book. When I’m easily distracted while reading a book, it’s never a good thing.  The story itself isn’t bad; I was simply bored out of my mind.
 
West meets Silas during a trip with her father while delivery communion to the community. West initially thinks that Silas hates her, but they quickly become friends when Silas becomes West’s car detailing partner. They become very close friends and hang out almost every day. Now mind you, West has a boyfriend, Elliot. Elliot, who is a sweet and really cares about West. Yet she goes gallivanting on the beach and all around town with Silas and gets ANNOYED when her boyfriend calls or wants to hang out. Yes, Silas is a much better match for West than Elliot. I just wish West would have broken up with Elliot instead of leading him on and hurting him even more.
 
While I wasn’t a huge fan of the two main characters, there were plenty of secondary characters I enjoyed. Elliot was a complete sweetheart and my heart broke for him when West hurt him. I adored Gordan, a friend of West’s, and I loved the scenes he was in. Elliot’s best friend, Whit, was also a wonderful addition to this cast of characters. 
 
This wasn’t the worst contemporary I have read this year, but it was far from the best. Barely mediocre, if that. It was slow for me and I had lots of trouble getting into the story. I wouldn’t completely dismiss this book if you have been interested. There seems to be reviews all over the board, so you just might enjoy this book. 
 
2.5 out of 5 stars

Meet The Author

7536711

Jackie Lea Sommers is a young adult author who lives in Minnesota, where the people are nice and the Os are long. She is the 2013 winner of the Katherine Paterson Prize for Young Adult and Children’s Writing. Her first novel Truest will be published by HarperCollins in September 2015.

Jackie grew up on a hobby farm but has made the Twin Cities her home for nearly 15 years after moving there to study creative writing at the University of Northwestern. She hates OCD, horcruxes, and Minnesota winters. She loves Jesus, Augustus Waters, and Minnesota springs.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, FacebookTumblr, Pinterest, and her website.

Leave a Reply

