Review: Tonight the Streets Are Ours by Leila Sales

23310761 Title: Tonight the Streets Are Ours

Author: Leila Sales

Publication Date: September 15, 2015

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Seventeen-year-old Arden Huntley is recklessly loyal. Taking care of her loved ones is what gives Arden purpose in her life and makes her feel like she matters. But she’s tired of being loyal to people who don’t appreciate her—including her needy best friend and her absent mom.

Arden finds comfort in a blog she stumbles upon called “Tonight the Streets Are Ours,” the musings of a young New York City writer named Peter. When Peter is dumped by the girlfriend he blogs about, Arden decides to take a road trip to see him.

During one crazy night out in NYC filled with parties, dancing, and music—the type of night when anything can happen, and nearly everything does—Arden discovers that Peter isn’t exactly who she thought he was. And maybe she isn’t exactly who she thought she was, either.

I received this book for free via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. Thanks to the the publisher, Farrar, Straus, and Giroux.

When Arden types “why doesn’t anyone love me as much as I love them” into the Google search engine, she stumbles across a blog called Tonight The Streets Are Ours which is run by a boy her age named Peter. She quickly becomes obsessed with the blog and convinces her best friend, Lindsay, to take a road trip with her to meet Peter.

I didn’t hate or love Arden, I felt fairly indifferent towards her. The only real problem I had with her was the fact that she practically stalks Peter’s place of work from where she lives. I love my readers, but if one of them stalked me out at my place of work, I would be concerned to say the least. Lindsay, Arden’s best friend, is the kind of friend that is always gets into trouble. Arden takes the blame for Lindsay’s mistakes and Lindsay doesn’t think twice about it. And then there is Peter who isn’t the least bit wary about Arden stalking him down. He takes it in stride. Just, no.

I feel like I should write more for this review, but I keep coming up blank. This is was rather uneventful book and a forgettable story. I didn’t hate this story and I had no problems reading it, it just felt bland. I only read this book a few weeks ago and I’ve already forget most of the story. It wasn’t until the last few chapters that something interesting happened. Unfortunately, Tonight The Streets Are Ours missed its mark with me. However, there are many mixed reviews for this book. If you have been on the fence about it, it might not hurt to give it a try.

2.5 out of 5 stars


Meet The Author

3390621

Leila Sales was born in 1984 and grew up outside of Boston, Massachusetts. She graduated from the University of Chicago with a degree in psychology in 2006. Now she lives in Brooklyn, New York, and works in the mostly glamorous world of children’s book publishing. Leila spends most of her time thinking about sleeping, kittens, dance parties, and stories that she wants to write.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and her website.

Leave a Reply

