Blog Tour: Velvet Undercover by Teri Brown – Review + Giveaway

VelvetTour

Velvet Undercover pic

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Title: Velvet Undercover

Author: Teri Brown

Publication Date: October 20, 2015

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Donnelly and Libba Bray comes this page-turning historical spy thriller from Teri Brown, author of the Born of Illusion series.

Samantha Donaldson’s family has always done its duty for the British Crown. In the midst of World War I, seventeen-year-old Sam follows in their footsteps, serving her country from the homefront as a Girl Guide and messenger for the intelligence organization MI5. After her father disappears on a diplomatic mission, she continues their studies of languages, high-level mathematics, and complex puzzles and codes, hoping to make him proud.

When Sam is asked to join the famed women’s spy group La Dame Blanche she’s torn—this could be the adventure she’s dreamed of, but how can she abandon her mother, who has already lost a husband to the war? But when her handlers reveal shocking news, Sam realizes there’s no way she can refuse the exciting and dangerous opportunity.

Her acceptance leads her straight into the heart of enemy territory on a mission to extract the most valuable British spy embedded in Germany, known to the members of LDB only as Velvet. Deep undercover within the court of Kaiser Wilhelm II, Samantha must navigate the labyrinthine palace and its many glamorous—and secretive—residents to complete her assignment. To make matters worse she finds herself forming a forbidden attraction to the enemy-a dangerously handsome German guard. In a place where personal politics are treacherously entangled in wartime policy, can Samantha discover the truth and find Velvet before it’s too late…for them both?

From author Teri Brown comes the thrilling story of one girl’s journey into a deadly world of spycraft and betrayal—with unforgettable consequences.

Review

I received this book for free via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. Big thanks to the publisher!

Samantha Donaldson is flattered when her boss request for her skills to be put to good use in spy group called La Dame Blanche. Samantha initially turns down the offer, as she does not wish to leave her mother home alone. When she is bribed with an offer she cannot resist, she immediately accepts. Once Sam meets her handler, she will quickly be trained and sent off on a dangerous mission.

I easily loved Sam. She was smart and was very brave given her situation. Even when she still made mistakes, she was such a likable character, as she was very human. If she was scared, she would try her best to be brave. If she made a mistake, she did her best to do better.

Velvet Undercover was such a captivating read! Bonus points for such a captivating cover! I am always up for a good mystery/historical fiction read and Velvet Undercover was exactly what I have been needing .The first half of the book was evenly paced and easily kept me entertained. From there the pacing quickly picked up and this book was hard to put down! If you are looking for an interesting and entertaining read or looking for something to pull you out of a book slump, then you have found your book!

4 out of 5 stars

PRAISE FOR VELVET UNDERCOVER

“A slow-burning tale of espionage and deceit that explores the complexities and moral uncertainties of war.” (Kirkus Reviews) “A taut and swiftly paced historical spy mystery, filled with suspense and surprising plot twists…A great fit for fans of Elizabeth Wein’s Code Name Verity.” (School Library Journal)

“Clever, impetuous Samantha Donaldson is a delight to follow through the murky world of the German court in this twisty tale of espionage and forbidden romance.” Katherine Longshore, author of Gilt, Tarnish

“Brown’s latest is a pulse-racing, whip-smart thriller that kept me guessing until the end.” —Cat Winters, Morris Award Finalist for In the Shadow of Blackbirds


Meet The Author

Brown__Teri_BW_1189

Well behaved women rarely make history. Teri Brown lived that quote way before she ever even heard it. The two things she is most proud of, (besides her children), is that she jumped out of an airplane once and beat the original Legend of Zelda video game.  She’s a novel writer, head banger, pet keeper, math hater, cocktail drinker, booty shaker, book reader, city slicker, food fixer, rule breaker, wine sipper and word scribbler. She loves her husband, children, puppies and chocolate.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and her website.

Giveaway

One Grand Prize Winner will get:

spy prize

  One signed hardback copy of Born of Illusion, one signed hardback copy of Born of Deception, one drawstring spygirls bag from the International Spy Museum, one tablet of spy paper that dissolves when wet, one password required lock and key journal, two black light spy pens, and one pair of brass spyglasses with brass rope chain (Perfect for spying!).

(US Only)

Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule

October 12th: Such A Novel Idea – REVIEW

October 13th: Curling Up With A Good Book – TEN RANDOM THINGS

October 14th: Downright Dystopian – REVIEW

October 15th: The Book Cellar – REVIEW

October 16th: Bookaholics Anonymous – REVIEW + MUSIC PLAYLIST

October 17th: One Night Book Stand – REVIEW

October 18th: The Cover Contessa – TEN’S LIST

October 19th: A Dream Within A Dream – REVIEW + EXCERPT

Me, My Shelf & I

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Velvet Undercover by Teri Brown – Review + Giveaway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s