Blog Tour: What’s Broken Between Us by Alexis Bass – Review + Playlist + Dream Cast + Giveaway

WBBU

Click on the tour banner to follow the rest of the tour!

23633796

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  The Book Depository | Kobo | iTunes

Title: What’s Broken Between Us

Author: Alexis Bass

Publication Date:December 29, 2015

Publisher: Harper Collins

Synopsis:

Alexis Bass’s heartbreakingly beautiful second novel is a tale of love, loss, and learning to forgive, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and of Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything.

A year and a half ago, Amanda Tart’s brother got behind the wheel drunk and killed his best friend. Today, he’s coming home from prison.

Amanda’s been the one living with the fallout, made worse by her brother’s recent unapologetic TV interview. People think he’s a monster. Still, she loves him. It’s her dark secret, until she starts getting close to Henry again–whose sister is paralyzed from the accident.

A year and a half ago, her brother destroyed his life. Now Amanda has to decide if she’ll let his choice destroy hers.

Review

I received this book for free via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. Thanks to The Fantastic Flying Book Club.

Most seniors in high school look forward to graduation, senior trips, and applying to colleges, but the one thing Amanda is looking forward to is her brother’s release from prison. Amanda’s brother, Jonathan, has been incarcerated for the past year for vehicular homicide.

While I liked Amanda, I did not always applaud the decisions she made. Although I felt like Amanda was a better match for Henry than Graham, I wished she would have been honest with Graham instead of him finding out the way he did.

After all the pain that Jonathan has caused Amanda and her family and friends, Amanda still tries her best to help her brother. Amanda clearly loves Jonathan and wants what is best for him, even if it isn’t what he wants. I admired how Amanda helped Jonathan and was there for him when he needed her.

I won’t sugarcoat it, this is a heavy book that deals with a heavy issues. I feel like the author handled these issues appropriately and realistically. If you are looking for a book that discusses and handles issues, but learns to find the light at the end of the tunnel, this might be the book for you!

3 out of 5 stars

Playlist

Dream Cast

MV5BMTYwNTA2NzIwNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDg3MDIyOA@@._V1__SX1320_SY560_

Jodelle Ferland as Amanda

MV5BMjA5ODk0MDM4MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDAzNzA4Nw@@._V1__SX1320_SY560_

Nico Tortorella as Jonathan

MV5BMTg1NDQ1OTA4NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTM4Njc1MjE@._V1__SX1320_SY560_

Devon Gearhart as Henry

MV5BMjM5NzUxOTI4MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMjkwNzAxNjE@._V1__SX1320_SY560_

Bella Thorne as Sutton

MV5BMTgzNzM4ODc2Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDMyMzUzNA@@._V1__SX1320_SY560_

Alexandra Daddario as Dawn

MV5BODkzOTczOTMzM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTcyNjIwMDE@._V1__SX1320_SY560_

Graham Phillips as Graham


Meet The Author

Alexis

Megan Frazer Blakemore is an author for children and young adults. She lives with her husband and children in Maine. She has worked in both school and public libraries, and is currently pursuing a doctorate in library science at Simmons SLIS.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, Google+, and her website.

Giveaway

Win a $25 Barnes & Noble eGift Card (INT)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Fantastic Flying Book Club

Advertisements

Merry Christmas + Mini Hiatus

200

Merry Christmas everyone!

Now I know Christmas is technically only a few days away, but I wanted to wish you a Merry Christmas early since I will be taking a mini hiatus (minus a scheduled post) to spend time with friends and family during the holidays!

I hope your tree is bright and full of gifts for giving and receiving!

200-2

I hope you get to drink lots and lots of hot chocolate or whatever tickles your fancy!

200-5

I hope that none of your family relatives are this bad…

200-3

And I hope that your Christmas is rocking!

giphy

As always, thanks for following me and putting up with my shenanigans!

200-4

I’ll see you all after the New Year!!

Blog Tour: The Trouble With Destiny by Lauren Morrill – Review + Giveaway

Cover

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository| Barnes & Noble | IndieBound | iBooks

Title: The Trouble With Destiny

Author: Lauren Morrill

Publication Date: December 8, 2015

Publisher: Delacorte

Synopsis:

It’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey…

With her trusty baton and six insanely organized clipboards, drum major Liza Sanders is about to take Destiny by storm—the boat, that is. When Liza discovered that her beloved band was losing funding, she found Destiny, a luxury cruise ship complete with pools, midnight chocolate buffets, and a $25,000 spring break talent show prize.

Liza can’t imagine senior year without the band, and nothing will distract her from achieving victory. She’s therefore not interested when her old camp crush, Lenny, shows up on board, looking shockingly hipster-hot. And she’s especially not interested in Russ, the probably-as-dumb-as-he-is-cute prankster jock whose ex, Demi, happens be Liza’s ex–best friend and leader of the Athenas, a show choir that’s the band’s greatest competition.

But it’s not going to be smooth sailing. After the Destiny breaks down, all of Liza’s best-laid plans start to go awry. Liza likes to think of herself as an expert at almost everything, but when it comes to love, she’s about to find herself lost at sea.

Review

I received this book for free via NetGalley in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. Thanks to the publisher and The Irish Banana Review.

Liza will do anything to save the band she so desperately loves. That includes taking a cruise that allows bands and choirs to compete and even the chance to win $25,000. If the band wins the competition, they will have the funding they need to continue the band. With the pressure of the competition on her shoulders, Liza can’t function properly and is failing to  lead the band like she should. On top of everything, there are two boys that are sending mixed and very confusing signals.

I’ll admit it, I was not the biggest fan of Liza in the beginning. She would try too hard, became frustrated easily, and pushed the band to be “perfect.” With stress of winning the competition, Liza quickly loses sight over the fact that she should be enjoying her time on a cruise with her best friends.

Although it took most of the book for Liza to realize the error of her ways and her thinking, her development was wonderful. Not only does Liza realize that she should have been open and honest with her friends and the band, she realizes that she should have been open and honest with herself. The Trouble With Destiny has some of the best character development I have read to date.

Oh my, oh my. I was not sure what I was going to expect going into this book. For the most part I have read some positive reviews, but I did not expect this book to be such a lovely read. The Trouble With Destiny is a lovely contemporary with a very unique setting. I flew through this book and was not bored for a second. I will definitely be reading more books by Morrill very soon!

4 out of 5 stars

Meet The Author

Lauren

Lauren Elizabeth Morrill is many things, including, but not limited to, a writer, an educator, a badass roller derby skater, a former band nerd, an aggressive driver, and a die-hard Mac person. She also watches a lot of TV, eats a lot of junk food, and drinks a lot of Coke. It’s a wonder her brain and teeth haven’t rotted out of her head.

Lauren is the author of Meant to Be, Being Sloane Jacobs, The Trouble With Destiny, and the forthcoming My Unscripted Life (October 2016), all from Random House.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, and her website.

Giveaway

One winner will win Lauren Morrill Signed Books & Swag!

(US or Canada Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the Rest of the Tour

Week 1:
 
Week 2:
 
Week 3:
 
Week 4:

Irish Banana Tours

Waiting on Wednesday: The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Hargrave

This is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine.  “Waiting on Wednesday” spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

Title: The Girl of Ink and Stars

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Publication Date: May 5, 2016

27973757

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Forbidden to leave her island, Isabella Riosse dreams of the faraway lands her father once mapped.

When her closest friend disappears into the island’s Forgotten Territories, she volunteers to guide the search. As a cartographer’s daughter, she’s equipped with elaborate ink maps and knowledge of the stars, and is eager to navigate the island’s forgotten heart.

But the world beyond the walls is a monster-filled wasteland – and beneath the dry rivers and smoking mountains, a legendary fire demon is stirring from its sleep. Soon, following her map, her heart and an ancient myth, Isabella discovers the true end of her journey: to save the island itself.

From this young debut author comes a beautifully written and lyrical story of friendship, discovery, myths and magic – perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Frances Hardinge or Katherine Rundell.

I just discovered this beauty yesterday and it sounds like it would be a fascinating read!!

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Best Books I Read This Year

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish, and I decided to share my list with all of you also!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Top Ten Best Books I Read This Year. Shall we?

15745753

1. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

11861815 20662291

2. – 3. Winger and Stand Off by Andrew Smith

23398869

4. Ana of California by Andi Teran

18798983

5. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

25819495

6. Sweet by Emmy Laybourne

18189606

7. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

24910975

8. Inconceivable! by Tegan Wren

23310742

9. Young Widows Club by Alexandra Coutts

23395680

10. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

My favorite books of the year range from contemporary, thriller, fantasy, and even sci-fi. Looking back I obviously enjoyed my contemporary reads the most, but I believe that is due to the fact that the genre I read the most was contemporary. All these particular books were the books that left me breathless once I finished reading. Some of these books have sequels that I can’t wait for! As for the ones that aren’t expecting sequels, the authors are writing other exciting books! 2016 is going to rock my book world!