Waiting on Wednesday: The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Hargrave

This is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine.  “Waiting on Wednesday” spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

Title: The Girl of Ink and Stars

Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Publication Date: May 5, 2016

27973757

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Forbidden to leave her island, Isabella Riosse dreams of the faraway lands her father once mapped.

When her closest friend disappears into the island’s Forgotten Territories, she volunteers to guide the search. As a cartographer’s daughter, she’s equipped with elaborate ink maps and knowledge of the stars, and is eager to navigate the island’s forgotten heart.

But the world beyond the walls is a monster-filled wasteland – and beneath the dry rivers and smoking mountains, a legendary fire demon is stirring from its sleep. Soon, following her map, her heart and an ancient myth, Isabella discovers the true end of her journey: to save the island itself.

From this young debut author comes a beautifully written and lyrical story of friendship, discovery, myths and magic – perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Frances Hardinge or Katherine Rundell.

I just discovered this beauty yesterday and it sounds like it would be a fascinating read!!

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Hargrave

  1. I hadn’t heard of this book until now but it certainly does sound like it is going to be a magical read which is lovely and full of adventures and friendship as a running theme!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s