Waiting on Wednesday: Dreamland Burning by Jennifer Latham

This is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine.  “Waiting on Wednesday” spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

Title: Dreamland Burning

Author: Jennifer Latham

Publication Date: January 3, 2017

24382227

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Some bodies won’t stay buried.
Some stories need to be told.

When seventeen-year-old Rowan Chase finds a skeleton on her family’s property, she has no idea that investigating the brutal century-old murder will lead to a summer of painful discoveries about the past… and the present.

Nearly one hundred years earlier, a misguided violent encounter propels seventeen-year-old Will Tillman into a racial firestorm. In a country rife with violence against blacks and a hometown segregated by Jim Crow, Will must make hard choices on a painful journey towards self discovery and face his inner demons in order to do what’s right the night Tulsa burns.

Through intricately interwoven alternating perspectives, Jennifer Latham’s lightning-paced page-turner brings the Tulsa race riot of 1921 to blazing life and raises important question about the complex state of US race relations – both yesterday and today.

I know this book will not be released for quite some time, but I had to feature it! I am so stinking excited for this book! I can’t wait to read this book and isn’t that cover the prettiest?!

Advertisements

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Five Star Reads Of 2016

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish, and I decided to share my list with all of you also!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Top Five Star Reads of 2016. I haven’t read a ton of books so far this year, so I only have five books to feature. However, they are five of the best books I have ever read! Shall we?

16096824

1. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

I could not put this book down. Oh. My. Gosh. This book was everything I ever dreamed it would be. Bonus: The second installment will be out in a month! *Squeal*

21979832

2. The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

This book was so magical. While it was a bit of a slower pace than most books, that didn’t stop me from loving every second of it!

22428707

3. The Great Hunt by Wendy Higgins

This book ripped my heart in two. How could you do this to me Wendy? HOW?! Just one year until I read the second book…

9781481432696_3be56

4. Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

The romance in this book was beautiful and perfect. And I just found out that there will be a sequel! *jumping for joy*

7514925

5. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Oh the feels. All the freaking feels. I don’t care who you are…if you haven’t read this book, you are missing out.

SENDING HUGS TO ALL MY FAVORITE AUTHORS!

DNF Review: A Tyranny of Petticoats

22020592Title: A Tyranny of Petticoats

Authors: Jessica Spotswood (Editor), Elizabeth Wein, Beth Revis, Marie Lu, Andrea Cremer, Caroline Richmond, J. Anderson Coats, Marissa Meyer, Katherine Longshore, Saundra Mitchell, Robin Talley, Y.S. Lee, Kekla Magoon, Leslye Walton, & Lindsay Smith

Publication Date: March 8, 2016

Publisher: Candlewick Press

Synopsis from Goodreads:

From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat anthology of historical fiction and fantasy featuring a diverse array of daring heroines.

Criss-cross America — on dogsleds and ships, stagecoaches and trains — from pirate ships off the coast of the Carolinas to the peace, love, and protests of 1960s Chicago. Join fifteen of today’s most talented writers of young adult literature on a thrill ride through history with American girls charting their own course. They are monsters and mediums, bodyguards and barkeeps, screenwriters and schoolteachers, heiresses and hobos. They’re making their own way in often-hostile lands, using every weapon in their arsenals, facing down murderers and marriage proposals. And they all have a story to tell.

I received a copy of this book for free via Netgalley in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

A Tyranny of Petticoats is a book filled with short stories about young women who are taking on the world regardless of what people think or say about them. When I first saw this book, I became extremely excited! I love a good book with a kick butt, feminist, female protagonist. Feyre from A Court of Thorns and Roses, Yael from Wolf by Wolf, and Kate from Vengeance Road, just to name a few.

While there were stories throughout this book that I did enjoyed, I just could not bring myself to finish this novel. I had read about three quarters of this book before I finally decided to set it down. That decision was difficult to make; I desperately wanted to love this book. However, I had quite the struggle immersing myself within these stories.

Despite the fact that there were stories throughout this book I did not like, that fact does not mean I won’t give the author’s another chance. I have read some of these author’s previous works before and appreciated their book(s). I would love to have the chance to read some of the author’s novel(s) before I decide whether or not I like/dislike that particular author.

I feel as though I am the only person who did not finish this book. And I really hate to be THAT PERSON. The one person who disliked a book that so many people loved. This is the first anthology book I have read. Maybe short stories aren’t meant for me. I think I prefer longer stories where I have the chance to develop a deeper connection with the character(s).

Normally I will give a one star rating to a book I did not finish. However, I did enjoy some of the stories I read in this book, so I’m upping the rating to a two star rating.

2 out of 5 stars


Meet The Editor

4718528

Jessica Spotswood grew up in a tiny, one-stoplight town in Pennsylvania, where she could be found swimming, playing clarinet, memorizing lines for the school play, or—most often—with her nose in a book. Now she lives in Washington, DC where she can be found working as a children’s library associate for the DC Public Library, seeing theatre with her playwright husband, or—most often—with her nose in a book. Some things never change.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest, and her website.

 

Review: The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

21979832Title: The Girl From Everywhere

Author: Heidi Heilig

Publication Date: February 16, 2016

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Links: Goodreads | Amazon

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Nix has spent her entire life aboard her father’s ship, sailing across the centuries, across the world, across myth and imagination.

As long as her father has a map for it, he can sail to any time, any place, real or imagined: nineteenth-century China, the land from One Thousand and One Nights, a mythic version of Africa. Along the way they have found crewmates and friends, and even a disarming thief who could come to mean much more to Nix.

But the end to it all looms closer every day.

Her father is obsessed with obtaining the one map, 1868 Honolulu, that could take him back to his lost love, Nix’s mother. Even though getting it—and going there—could erase Nix’s very existence.

For the first time, Nix is entering unknown waters.

She could find herself, find her family, find her own fantastical ability, her own epic love.

Or she could disappear.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

Nixie’s father, Slate, will stop at nothing to find Nix’s mother, the one woman he truly loves. Even if it means losing Nixie. So, Slate, Nix, and the rest of the crew Navigate through time and place to find Nix’s mother. In order for Slate to Navigate, AKA time travel, he must have an original map drawn from that particular time period. Whether the map is real or fictional, Slate can Navigate to the destination as long as the map is “original.” Because of this fact, the crew can actually travel to mythical places.

There are so many fantastic characters in this book! Nix is brave, smart, quick, and never takes no for an answer. Her best friend and partner in crime, Kashmir, is a wonderful secondary character. I loved how he teases her, yet cares for her in a sweet, quiet way. Also, let’s talk about some serious character development. I thoroughly appreciate when an author has characters that develop and change. Character development makes the characters and the stories so much more REAL.

If you have read other reviews, I am sure you have heard about the love triangle. Honestly, I wouldn’t classify it as a love triangle although it could possibly become one in the second installment. Let’s just hope that Nix will be the type of girl to make up her mind and not bounce back and forth. *fingers crossed*

This book is magical and fascinating. The world building is unlike any other book I have read and is so original. Each setting is describing so beautifully that it felt as if I was actually there. I actually plan on reading this book again before the second installment is released so I may enjoy it all over again.

Just read this book, it’s amazing.

5 out of 5 stars


 

Meet The Author

8167946

Heidi grew up in Hawaii where she rode horses and raised peacocks, and then she moved to New York City and grew up even more, as one tends to do. Her favorite thing, outside of writing, is travel, and she has haggled for rugs in Morocco, hiked the trails of the Ko’olau Valley, and huddled in a tent in Africa while lions roared in the dark.

She holds an MFA from New York University in Musical Theatre Writing, of all things, and she’s written books and lyrics for shows including The Time Travelers Convention, Under Construction, and The Hole. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and their pet snake, whose wings will likely grow in any day now.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, and her website.

Waiting on Wednesday: Thieving Weasels by Billy Taylor

This is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine.  “Waiting on Wednesday” spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

Title: Thieving Weasels

Author: Billy Taylor

Publication Date: August 23, 2016

24183675

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Skip O’Rourke is dragged into one last con . . . but he doesn’t know the con’s on him in this funny, page-turning debut YA for fans of Winger and Ocean’s Eleven.

Cameron Smith attends an elite boarding school and has just been accepted to Princeton University alongside his beautiful girlfriend, Claire. Life for Cameron would be perfect, except that Cameron Smith is actually Skip O’Rourke, and Skip O’Rourke ran away from his grifter family four years ago…along with $100,000 of their “earnings” (because starting a new life is not cheap). But when his uncle Wonderful tracks him down, Skip’s given an ultimatum: come back to the family for one last con, or say good-bye to life as Cameron.

“One last con” is easier said than done when Skip’s family is just as merciless (and just as manipulative) as they’ve always been, and everyone around him is lying. Skip may have given up on crime, but there’s one lesson he hasn’t forgotten: always know your mark. And if you don’t know who your mark is . . . it’s probably you.

Witty and irresistibly readable, this standout debut will always keep you guessing.

As I was initially reading the synopsis, I read “for fans of Winger…” I was hooked. Say no more. I will read this book and mostly like love it. If you don’t know, Winger is one of my favorite books. Any book that is compared to it has some big shoes to fill. If this book is anything like Winger, I know I will love it!