Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

 

16096824Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publication Date: May 5, 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

In order for Feyre to pay for the life of the faerie she stole, she must either die or spend the rest of her days in the Faerie Realms. Feyre agrees to spend the rest of her days in the Faerie Realms in hopes of returning home one day.

I am having so much trouble writing a review on this book…I do not think I could find the words to give this book the justice it deserves. A Court of Thorns and Roses was so much more than I could had ever imagined. From its richly described settings, to the snarky and fascinating characters, and to the authenticity of the story, A Court of Thorns and Roses will knock your socks off.

Now, the only part of this book that isn’t “original” is the fact that this book is a loose retelling of The Beauty and the Beast. Girl must live with a man whom she considers a “beast” for the rest of her days and then ultimately falls in love with him. Apart from the retelling aspect of the story, this book is such a refreshing read. Not once did I think “oh, just like that other book or character.” Everything in this book is so new and exciting that I just could not put it down.

It has been a long time since I have read a book as fast as I have A Court of Thorns and Roses. I read this book in a twenty-four hour period. For me to read a book that fast means that this book was not only amazing, but it was phenomenal!

I cannot believe how long it took me to finally decide to pick up this book. On the other hand I’m partially happy that it took me this long to get to this book because the sequel will be out in a month! If you are even slightly interested in reading this book, please, please do! I promise you WILL NOT regret reading this work of art!

5 out of 5 stars


 

Meet The Author

3433047

Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Queen of Shadows, Book 4, will be out in September 2015), as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series (out 5/5/15).

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, InstagramPinterest, Tumblr, and her website.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: April 2016 | One Night Book Stand

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s