Review: Paper Girls by Brian K. Vaughan

28204534Title: Paper Girls (Vol. #1 – 5)

Author: Brian K. Vaughan

Illustrators: Cliff Chiang & Matthew Wilson

Publication Date: April 5, 2016

Synopsis from Goodreads:

In the early hours after Halloween of 1988, four 12-year-old newspaper delivery girls uncover the most important story of all time. Suburban drama and otherworldly mysteries collide in this smash-hit series about nostalgia, first jobs, and the last days of childhood.

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

Set in the 1980’s, Paper Girls follows a group of four girls who deliver newspapers. Apart from a few people still roaming the streets in their Halloween costumes, it is a fairly normally morning. That is until the girls discover a weird machine in someone’s basement and come across two people who aren’t really people…

Paper Girls is a fast paced graphic novel that will have you flipping through the pages like a madman. The cliffhangers in this series are insane and you will be left wanting more! The colors in this series is very pretty and I would find myself stopping to stare and enjoy the beautiful artwork.

I honestly had no idea what I was going in to when I picked up this graphic novel. Paper Girls is technically the first graphic novel I have actually ever read. I have wanted to expand my genres and graphic novels have been something that have intrigued me for quite some time now. I cannot wait until this series starts back up again. If you are looking for an awesome graphic novel series to pick up, Paper Girls is the comic book for you!

4 out of 5 stars


Meet The Author

24514

Born in Cleveland in 1976, Brian K. Vaughan is the Eisner, Harvey, and Shuster Award-winning writer and co-creator of the critically acclaimed comics series Y: The Last Man, Runaways, and Ex Machina (picked as one of the ten best works of fiction of 2005 by Entertainment Weekly).

Recently named “Writer of the Year” by Wizard Magazine, and one of the “top ten comic writers of all time” by Comic Book Resources, Vaughan’s work has been featured and/or reviewed in countless mainstream media outlets, including The New York Times, MTV, National Public Radio, and feminist magazine Bust, which photographed him for their “Men We Love” issue (don’t ask).

As an undergraduate film student at New York University, Vaughan got his big break as part of Marvel’s Stanhattan Project, a workshop for aspiring comic book writers. In the ten years since, he has written nearly all of the major DC and Marvel characters, everyone from Batman to the X-Men.

This summer, the new WGA member/CAA client transplanted his poor playwright wife to Los Angeles, where Vaughan is currently working on the screenplay adaptations of Y and Ex Machina for New Line Cinema, as well as other new creations in film and television.

You can find him on Goodreads, Twitter, and Facebook.

2 thoughts on “Review: Paper Girls by Brian K. Vaughan

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this blog post of yours… Not just this one but all of them! They are all honestly really great and amazing.
    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is literally amazing and I truly am so happy that I have come across it because I really love it and I truly can’t wait to read more from you! So keep it up (:
    P.s. This comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

    Like

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: April 2016 | One Night Book Stand

Leave a Reply

