Blog Tour: The Girl I Used To Be by April Henry – Review + Playlist + Dream Cast + Giveaway

THE GIRL I USED TO BE

Click on the tour banner to follow the rest of the tour!

23018249Title: The Girl I Used To Be

Author: April Henry

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Release Date: May 3, 2016

Genres: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller, Contemporary, Suspense

Synopsis:

When Olivia’s mother was killed, everyone suspected her father of murder. But his whereabouts remained a mystery. Fast forward fourteen years. New evidence now proves Olivia’s father was actually murdered on the same fateful day her mother died. That means there’s a killer still at large. It’s up to Olivia to uncover who that may be. But can she do that before the killer tracks her down first?

Links: GoodreadsAmazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | iTunes | Kobo

Review

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

Olivia Reinhart, a recently emancipated minor, has just received word that the person she thought murdered her mother, is innocent. As it turns out, Olivia’s mother and father were both murdered on the  ery same day. She was actually there when the murders happened, but because she was so young at the time, she does not remember much.

When Olivia heads to her hometown for her father’s funeral, she begins to have dreams and flashbacks. Memories are emerging. Now that Olivia knows her father is not the killer, a new killer is on the loose and has gotten away with not one, but two murders. Olivia decides that she will get to the bottom of things and find out who murdered her parents.

I really enjoyed Olivia. She is very independent and confident for such a young age. When she makes up her mind to uncover the truth, there is nothing anyone can say or do to stop her. She develops a few relationships with the people from her hometown. I enjoyed most of these secondary characters and wish I would have had more of them!

From chapter one, The Girl I Used To Be is a fast paced and exciting novel. This book wastes no time hooking you with its story and leaves you wanting more. I finished this book quickly and was pretty disappointed when it was over. My only complaint is the length of the story. I wish it was longer so I had more to read! I will definitely be picking up more books by this author in the future!

4 out of 5 stars

Playlist

Dream Cast

Alexandra-Daddario-Those-eyes-are-incredible

Alexandra Daddario as Olivia

lg_jake_t_austin

Jake T. Austin as Duncan


Meet The Author

April

I write mysteries and thrillers. I live in Portland, Oregon with my family.

If you’ve read one of my books, I would love to hear from you. Hearing from readers makes me eager to keep writing.

When I was 12, I sent a short story about a six-foot tall frog who loved peanut butter to Roald Dahl, the author of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. He liked it so much he arranged to have it published in an international children’s magazine.

My dream of writing went dormant until I was in my 30s, working at a corporate job, and started writing books on the side. Those first few years are now thankfully a blur. Now I’m very lucky to make a living doing what I love. I have written 13 novels for adults and teens, with more on the way. My books have gotten starred reviews, been picked for Booksense, translated into six languages, been named to state reading lists, and short-listed for the Oregon Book Award.

I also review YA literature and mysteries and thrillers for the Oregonian, and have written articles for both The Writer and Writers Digest.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, and her website.

Giveaway

giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Fantastic Flying Book Club

Leave a Reply

