Monthly Wrap Up: May 2016

May was cray. There was birthdays, graduations, parties, and holidays. Even though the month was busy, I was able to read a few books!

Not too long along, my husband introduced me to a British TV Show.

Doc Martin

DM_L_1920x1080

Seriously, this show is amazing. Anyways, we have been binge watching the entire series over the past two months. This wonderful and hilarious show has put a bit of a damper of my reading. I have absolutely no control when it comes to clicking to the next episode.

You definitely need to check out this show! All the seasons (except the last one) are on Netflix. Don’t tell me I’m a bad influence…

Also, this month I discovered #booksfortrade on Twitter! So far I have been able to trade quite a few books and receive some awesome books in return.

Books Reviewed This Month

1. The Girl I Used To Be by April Henry – 4 stars

2. Summer Days and Summer Nights by Stephanie Perkins – 4 stars

3. The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner – 5 stars

4. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – 4 stars

Biggest surprise? The Serpent King. I did not even know this book existed until it was publishing and I started seeing it everywhere. I actually received it in my Owl Crate and I figured I would give it a shot! My oh my, it was wonderful! I think people that aren’t even fans of contemporary should read this book!

Now for my biggest disappointment? Six of Crows. Yes, I know it received a four star rating and I honestly enjoyed it, but the hype might have killed this book a bit for me. However, I do plan on reading the sequel when it comes out this fall! The ending has quite a cliffhanger and I can’t wait to see where the story takes me!

I actually did get to read a few more books than this, but I didn’t want to include them since I haven’t had the opportunity to review them just yet! Be on the lookout for some exciting reviews!

Giveaway

tumblr_mfesswytIk1qlt206o1_500

If you read my wrap up from last month, then you knew that my birthday was in May. I hosted a little giveaway to treat my readers and I am happy to announce that the winner of  my giveaway is Emma M. She decided on a pre-order book and I sure hope she enjoys it once it arrives on her doorstep!

June TBR

I haven’t requested many review copies for the summer so I am attempting to knock some books off my TBR and even read some new releases! I have also included a upcoming comic book, as I am attempting to expand beyond my comfort genre. Can anyone guess what genre that is? I also plan on FINALLY reading Little Women this month. I bought this book awhile back and it has been on the back burner for quite some time. No more! Little Women, here I come!

What do you plan on reading this month?

Leave a Reply

