Blog Tour: Unplugged by Donna Freitas – Top Ten + Giveaway

Unplugged Banner

Title:Unplugged Cover Unplugged

Author: Donna Freitas

Publication Date: June 21, 2016

Publisher: Harper Children’s

Synopsis: The first book in a provocative new series from acclaimed author Donna Freitas—Feed for a new generation.

Humanity is split into the App World and the Real World—an extravagant virtual world for the wealthy and a dying physical world for the poor. Years ago, Skylar Cruz’s family sent her to the App World for a chance at a better life.

Now Skye is a nobody, a virtual sixteen-year-old girl without any glamorous effects or expensive downloads to make her stand out in the App World. Yet none of that matters to Skye. All she wants is a chance to unplug and see her mother and sister again.

But when the borders between worlds suddenly close, Skye loses that chance. Desperate to reach her family, Skye risks everything to get back to the physical world. Once she arrives, however, she discovers a much larger, darker reality than the one she remembers.

In the tradition of M. T. Anderson’s Feed and Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies, Unplugged kicks off a thrilling and timely sci-fi series for teens from an award-winning writer.

Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound | iBooks | The Book Depository

Top Ten Items or Things That Keep Us “Unplugged” In The Real World According to Donna Freitas…

1. Real food. I mean, imagine a life eating virtual strawberries? Or virtual peaches and ice cream shakes and all the wonderful things we like to eat? I don’t think we could come up with virtual eating experiences that would cut it.

 2. A great conversation. Face to face. With eye contact.

3. Making out. Kissing. (Honestly, that’s the first thing that popped into my head. J) But I put it as number three to try to make myself a tad more respectable. But there’s nothing like an amazing kiss—a real one.

 4. Our heartbeats. The way the heart pounds and speeds up. This is related to making out and kissing. The way your pulse gets all erratic when you’re with someone you like or maybe even love.

 5. Swimming in the ocean. Need I explain?

 6. The amazing beauty of the world we live in, and all the people we see when we look up from our devices. Too amazing to miss.

 7. The real body is a pretty nice place to be. You get to feel the sun on your face. Bodies can be wonderful all on their own, without any virtual enhancements. Bodies aren’t perfect, we get old, and sick, of course, but they are our homes, for better or worse. And I wouldn’t want to trade one in for a virtual copy.

 8. Being unreachable. I love being unreachable sometimes.

 9. Kissing and making out. (Can I have that on here, twice?)

 10. Reading. Reading is nicer when you’re unplugged, since you’re free of the temptation to be elsewhere.


Meet The Author

Donna Freitas

Donna Freitas is the author of both fiction and nonfiction, and she lectures at universities across the United States on her work about college students, most recently at Colby, Pepperdine, Harvard, and Yale. Over the years, she has written for national newspapers and magazines, including The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Boston Globe, and The Washington Post, and she’s currently a non-resident research associate at the Center for Religion and Society at Notre Dame. Donna has been a professor at Boston University in the Department of Religion and also at Hofstra University in their Honors College.

In 2008, Donna published Sex and the Soul: Juggling Sexuality, Spirituality, Romance and Religion on America’s College Campuses with Oxford University Press, based on her national study about sex on campus. Her latest book is called The Happiness Effect: How Social Media is Driving a Generation to Appear Perfect at Any Cost (Oxford, October 2016), and it is based on her research for a new study about social media and how it is effecting the ways we construct identity and sense of self, how we make meaning in the world, and navigate our relationships during college. In 2014 and 2015, Freitas conducted approximately 200 in-person interviews with college students at thirteen different colleges and universities, and collected nearly1000 online surveys about these subjects.

Donna is also the author of six novels for children and young adults, including The Survival Kit (FSG, 2011), named an ALA Best Books for Young Adults and the winner of the Bookstar Award in Switzerland, and This Gorgeous Game (FSG, 2010), also named an ALA Best Books for Young Adults, a winner of the CCBC Choice Award, and a Chicago Public Library Best of the Best winner. Her novel, The Possibilities of Sainthood (FSG, 2008), received five starred reviews and many accolades, including: an Indie Next Kids’ List Great Read, Society of School Librarians International Book Award Honor Book, VOYA Top Shelf Fiction for Middle School Readers, and the Texas Lone Star Reading List. Donna has also published two middle grade companion novels with Scholastic, Gold Medal Summer (about a gymnast) and Gold Medal Winter (about an ice skater), which just won a CCBC Choice Award. In June, Unplugged the first novel in her sci-fi trilogy about two competing worlds, one real, one virtual, will be out in June from HarperTeen. She lives in Brooklyn.

You can find her on Goodreads, Facebook, Twitter, and her website.

Giveaway

3 Finished Copies of Unplugged (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Irish Banana Tours

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Unplugged by Donna Freitas – Top Ten + Giveaway

  1. I enjoyed this post! So many times, like now, I find myself plugged in. But my favorite times are out in nature or reading with no technology to interrupt.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s