Review: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

20983362Title: Passenger

Author: Alexandra Bracken

Publication Date: January 5, 2016

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Synopsis: Passage, n.
i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes.
ii. A journey by water; a voyage.
iii. The transition from one place to another, across space and time.

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them—whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are playing, treacherous forces threaten to separate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home… forever.

As Etta is about to begin her piece for her violin debut, she suddenly hears screaming. No one in the crowd seems to hear the screaming and she runs offstage in a panic. One of her fellow violinist states that she also hears the screaming and they both run towards the noise. What greets Etta is her beloved music instructor that has just been murdered. Before she knows, she is on a ship in the middle of the ocean in the 1800’s.

I thought that Etta was a tolerable character. I did not dislike her and there were a few times she made me laugh. I appreciated the fact that she was from this century and inspired others to pursue their dreams, even if they were a woman. Nicholas was a decent character as well. While he did fall head over heels the moment he laid eyes on Etta and felt the need to defend her “honor” when a physician attempted to help her, he was a rather serious individual. He often pushed Etta’s advances mainly due to the color of his skin. Eventually Nicholas does give in and decides to be with Etta. To me this romance wasn’t a bad one, but it did feel like it came out of nowhere. One second they are time traveling partners, the next, they are making out. Even though this romance wasn’t my favorite (I blame it on Feyre and Rhysand), there are some serious bonus points due to the fact that this is an interracial couple. Hooray for more diversity!

It took me three weeks to read this book. THREE WEEKS PEOPLE. That never happens. Normally, I would dnf a book if I was having that much trouble reading it, however, I pursued on due to all the positive reviews on this book. This book was extremely slow. There were a few moments that were intriguing, but most of this book was quite a drag. I will say that the ending was quite a surprise and certain events happened that I would have not predicted. The ending is the only reason I plan on reading the sequel. I am happy that I read on, however, I do hope that the sequel is a better read for me.

3 out of 5 stars


Meet The Author

2973783

 Meet Alex. She writes about telekinetic teens and floppy-haired wizards. She loves Star Wars, classic rock, and 18th century gentlemen. When she’s not up at 4 AM writing, you can find her running around New York City. It is exactly as fun as it sounds.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Instagram, and her website.

5 thoughts on “Review: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

  1. I immediately bought Passenger the day it came out because… well, time travel (!) + I enjoyed The Darkest Minds and I heard nothing but *amazing* things about Alexandra Bracken.
    Thing is… I found myself can’t get into the book. At all. I tried a few times but It’s just… so-very slow paced. As much I want to love this book like many people did, I can’t even move past the first chapter. *sigh*.
    I agree with you on this one.

    My blog: http://magiverse.blogspot.co.il/

    Like

  2. I haven’t tried this book yet, but I’m hoping that I’ll like it. I like the author and love time travel but I’ve been burned by too many time travel books in the past!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: June 2016 | One Night Book Stand

Leave a Reply

