Review: Double Down (Lois Lane #2) by Gwenda Bond

27818091Title: Double Down (Lois Lane #2)

Author: Gwenda Bond

Publication Date: May 1, 2016

Publisher: Switch Press

Synopsis: Lois Lane has settled in to her new school. She has friends, for maybe the first time in her life. She has a job that challenges her. And her friendship is growing with SmallvilleGuy, her online maybe-more-than-a-friend. But when her friend Maddy’s twin collapses in a part of town she never should’ve been in, Lois finds herself embroiled in a dangerous mystery that brings her closer to the dirty underbelly of Metropolis.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

After landing her first huge story, Lois feels like things are finally going her way. She has a great group of friends and a great job. Now if only she could come across another huge story…

If you read my review of Fallout, then you know I was a bit disappointed. I felt as though there were a few loose ends and I was hoping for a bit more closure. When I started Double Down, I was hoping to get the closure that I had never received from the Fallout. Alas, Double Down picks up a few weeks later and although the previous plot is mentioned, the questions I had were left unanswered. Same goes for Double Down. There is this one huge coincidence between Lois’s father and her friend, SmallvilleGuy, but the questions I had were also never answered.

Then there is the matter with SmallvilleGuy. In case you did not know, SmallvilleGuy is a good friend of Lois’s. They have been chatting online for years now, but have never met in person. I was hoping that in this sequel, SmallvilleGuy would reveal his true self to Lois, but no. Not even close.

While I did enjoy the plot to this book more than I did the first one, the tone for this book felt the same as the first book. It was like I was reading the first book again, but with another plot. For me, these stories were rather bland. I truly had hoped that I was going to enjoy Double Down more than I had Fallout. However, both of these books were flops for me. I did not completely dislike Double Down and there were a few times I did enjoy what I was reading, but not enough. Unfortunately, I do not see myself picking up more Bond books in the future.

2.5 out of 5 stars


Meet The Author

Gwenda

Gwenda is an author of young adult books. Her latest are Lois Lane: Fallout, which brings the iconic comic book character front and center in her own YA novel, and Girl on a Wire, about a daredevil heroine who discovers magic and mystery lurking beneath the big top. Coming in 2016 are Lois Lane: Double Down and Girl in the Shadows, a new novel of the Cirque American. It’s possible that I escaped from a classic screwball comedy.

I live in a hundred-year-old house in Lexington, Kentucky, with my husband author Christopher Rowe, and our menagerie.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, InstagramTumblr, and her website.

One thought on “Review: Double Down (Lois Lane #2) by Gwenda Bond

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up: July 2016 | One Night Book Stand

Leave a Reply

