Top Ten Tuesday: Top Books Set Outside of the United States

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish, and I decided to share my list with all of you also!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is Top Books That Are Set Outside of the United States. Shall we?

20911403

1. Love, Lucy by April Lindner

While parts of this book is set in the United States, the majority of this book is set in Florence, Italy.

24807186

2. Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

This story start in Germainia (a fictional country, but originally a real world country) and takes us all the way to Tokyo, Japan.

21936937

3. Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

This beautiful romance takes place in Bristol, England.

27190613

4. And I Darken by Kiersten White

And I Darken takes place in various parts of the Ottoman Empire.

22840421

5. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, & Jodi Meadows

This comical story is set in London, England

22811807

6. This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzi Lee

This Frankenstein retelling takes place in Geneva, England.

28789556

7. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief is set in Molching, Germany.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a full ten for this list. Turns out I don’t read as many “international” books as I thought I did. Looks like that is going to have to change!!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Books Set Outside of the United States

  1. Sounds like great choices. I have heard so much about And I Darken and My Lady Jane and, of course, The Book Theif.
    I haven’t read any of them but I hope to get to them eventually. Oneday. Hopefully (:
    Thinking about it now, the majority of the books I read take place in the U.S or in a fictional fantasy land.

    My blog: http://magiverse.blogspot.co.il/

    Like

Leave a Reply

