Monthly Wrap Up: July 2016

Holy cannoli, it is August! Fall cannot come fast enough if you’re asking me. I am ready for some cool weather! Seriously, the heat index is over one hundred where I live and I cannot take much longer.

Books Read This Month

My two biggest disappointments this past month were Mirage and The Girl in the Blue Coat. Both of those were DNFs. I very rarely DNF books, but I am slowly realizing that there is no reason for me to force a book if I’m not feeling it. I will be reviewing The Girl in the Blue Coat shortly so be on the lookout for my thoughts on that one. As for Mirage, I did enjoy the overall premise for this book. However, I disliked the paranormal aspect of this book. The story is a very realistic one, but when the paranormal aspect was thrown into the mix, I quickly put the book aside. I find it a bit unfortunate when I decide to not finish books, but I just don’t have the time to read books that I’m not enjoying.

On a happier note, I did get to read some wonderful books this month! My favorite book this month was My Lady Jane. This book was so much fun and I did not want it to end! Recent news has shown that there will be “companion” books about other “Jane’s.” I can’t wait! I also enjoyed The Smell of Other People’s Houses. It is one of those books that not many people have read, but everyone who has, has loved it! I know I sure did.

Reviews

1. The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock

2. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, & Jodi Meadows

3. Smash & Grab by Amy Christine Parker

4. Double Down by Gwenda Bond

5. And I Darken by Kiersten White

August TBR

This month I am participating in ARC August. My plan is to read nothing but ARCs this month. Here are all the ARCs I hope to get to:

I hope that everyone has had a lovely (and not too hot) summer so far! What was your favorite book this month? Give me some recommendations!

2 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up: July 2016

  1. I love reading wrap up posts and it makes me wonder if I should start doing them myself! You have accomplished so much reading this month! I am super jealous. Good luck with ARC August! I participated last year and met so many wonderful bloggers and it was so much fun to get lots of encouragement for my reading progress! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

