Waiting on Wednesday: Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner

This is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine.  “Waiting on Wednesday” spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

Title: Goodbye Days

Author: Jeff Zentner

Publication Date: March 7, 2017

30649795

Synopsis:

Fans of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl and Looking for Alaska will love this heartbreaking and at times humorous look into one teen’s life after the death of his best friends.

Carver Briggs never thought a simple text would cause a fatal crash, killing his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and Blake. But now Carver can’t stop blaming himself for the accident and even worse, a powerful judge is pressuring the district attorney to open up a criminal investigation.

Luckily, Carver has some unexpected allies: Eli’s girlfriend, the only person to stand by him at school; Dr. Mendez, his new therapist; and Blake’s grandmother, who asks Carver to spend a “goodbye day” together to share their memories and say a proper farewell.

Soon the other families are asking for their own goodbye day with Carver—but he’s unsure of their motives. Will they all be able to make peace with their losses, or will these Goodbye Days bring Carver one step closer to a complete breakdown or—even worse—prison? 

I already know this is going to be an amazing novel. Why? Because Jeff Zentner wrote it. Earlier this year I read The Serpent King and completely fell in love. You can check out my review here.

Normally, I tend to stay away from what people would label as “sad” books. Not that I don’t enjoy “sad” novels, I just want to be happy! However, this is Jeff Zentner we are talking about. I’ll read anything this man writes.

Advertisements

10 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s