Review: Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

29236299Title: Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)

Author: Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Publication Date: October 18, 2016

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Synopsis: The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller that critics are calling “out-of-this-world awesome.”

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

Once again told through a compelling dossier of emails, IMs, classified files, transcripts, and schematics, Gemina raises the stakes of the Illuminae Files, hurling readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them breathless.

Review

Gemina is a continuation of Illuminae, but is a story from other perspectives. Gemina is set on Jump Station Heimdall and follows the two new main characters, Hanna and Nik. Hanna Donnelly is the daughter of the jump station commander and Nik Malikov is a member of a criminal gang who specializes in a very hallucinogenic drug.

The format of Gemina, while almost identical to the format of Illuminae, includes a few new graphics for storytelling. I cannot wait to get my hands on the finished copy because quite a few pictures/sketches are left out in the ARC. There are also tons of Easter eggs throughout Gemina that I was constantly drooling over.

When I read Illuminae, I enjoyed it. However, I did not love it (blame it on the hype). Even though Illuminae was a 4 out of 5 stars read for me, I was still very excited to read Gemina. Most readers have a fear of the “second book slump” when it comes to reading the second book in a series. Readers should have no fear of this when starting Gemina, because Gemina has got what I call “second book spunk!” I had absolutely no idea that I would love this book has much as I did. The twists and the turns, the mind games, the gasps, the tears, and all the freaking feels. It has been a month since I finished Gemina, and yet, my feelings and emotions are still in disarray. I do not feel like I could ever type up a review that could do this book justice. Just do yourself a favor…READ THE BOOK.

5 out of 5 stars


Meet The Authors

2xlqfi_1_400x400Amie Kaufman is the New York Times bestselling co-author of Illuminae (with Jay Kristoff) and These Broken Stars, This Shattered World, and Their Fractured Light (with Meagan Spooner.) She writes science fiction and fantasy for teens, and her favourite procrastination techniques involve chocolate, baking, sailing, excellent books and TV, plotting and executing overseas travel, and napping.

She lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband, their rescue dog, and her considerable library. She is represented by Tracey Adams of Adams Literary.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Tumblr, Pinterest, and her website.

untitledJay Kristoff is the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of The Lotus War, The Illuminae Files, and The Nevernight Chronicle. He is the winner of two Aurealis Awards, an ABIA, nominee for the David Gemmell Morningstar and Legend awards, named multiple times in the Kirkus and Amazon Best Teen Books list and published in over twenty-five countries, most of which he has never visited. He is as surprised about all of this as you are. He is 6’7 and has approximately 13030 days to live. He abides in Melbourne with his secret agent kung-fu assassin wife, and the world’s laziest Jack Russell.

He does not believe in happy endings.

You can find him on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and his website.

Waiting on Wednesday: Poison’s Kiss by Breeana Shields

This is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine.  “Waiting on Wednesday” spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

Title: Poison’s Kiss

Author: Breeana Shields

Publication Date: January 10, 2017

25081261

Synopsis:

A teenage assassin kills with a single kiss until she is ordered to kill the one boy she loves. This commercial YA fantasy is romantic and addictive like– a poison kiss– and will thrill fans of Sarah J. Maas and Victoria Aveyard.

Marinda has kissed dozens of boys. They all die afterward. It s a miserable life, but being a visha kanya a poison maiden is what she was created to do. Marinda serves the Raja by dispatching his enemies with only her lips as a weapon.

Until now, the men she was ordered to kiss have been strangers, enemies of the kingdom. Then she receives orders to kiss Deven, a boy she knows too well to be convinced he needs to die. She begins to question who she s really working for. And that is a thread that, once pulled, will unravel more than she can afford to lose.

This rich, surprising, and accessible debut is based in Indian folklore and delivers a story that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Fall TBR

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish, and I decided to share my list with all of you also!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is a Top Ten Books on my Fall TBR! I decided to go with books that have more of a spooky setting. Perfect for Halloween and snuggling up by the fire.

1. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

2. Blood for Blood by Ryan Graudin

3. Heartless by Marissa Meyer

4. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

5. Replica by Lauren Oliver

6. This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

7. Dead Girls Society by Michelle Krys

8. Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes

9. The Forgetting by Sharon Cameron

10. Unplugged by Donna Freitas

Waiting on Wednesday: Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza

This is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine.  “Waiting on Wednesday” spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating.

Title: Empress of a Thousand Skies

Author: Rhoda Belleza

Publication Date: February 7, 2017

30269126

Synopsis:

Empress

Rhee, better known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. She’ll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne.

Fugitive

Aly has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a holo-vision show. But when he’s falsely accused of killing Rhee, he’s forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation – and his life.

Madman

With planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly are thrown together to confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy.

Rhoda Belleza crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy in her exhilarating debut, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Pierce Brown.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Audio Books I’d Love To Listen To

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish, and I decided to share my list with all of you also!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is a Top Ten Audio Books I’d Love To Listen To!

1. Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt

2. The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman

3. When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

4. The Girls by Emma Cline

5. You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day

6. Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

7. Lab Girl by Hope Jahren

8. As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride by Cary Elwes and Joe Layden

9. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

10. The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

 I don’t listen to many audio books, but that is something I’d like to change! This list is a list of books I don’t typically read, but I have read wonderful reviews on. It only seems appropriate that I start listening to audio books that are books out of my “comfort” genre.