Blog Tour: Iron Cast by Destiny Soria – Review + Dream Cast

tour-banner

Click on the tour banner to follow the rest of the tour!

28818313

Title: Iron Cast

Author: Destiny Soria

Publication Date: October 11, 2016

Publisher: Amulet Books

Synopsis: It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed. On stage, hemopaths—whose “afflicted” blood gives them the ability to create illusions through art—captivate their audience. Corinne and Ada have been best friends ever since infamous gangster Johnny Dervish recruited them into his circle. By night they perform for Johnny’s crowds, and by day they con Boston’s elite. When a job goes wrong and Ada is imprisoned, they realize how precarious their position is. After she escapes, two of the Cast Iron’s hires are shot, and Johnny disappears. With the law closing in, Corinne and Ada are forced to hunt for answers, even as betrayal faces them at every turn.

Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books a Million | Kobo | Indiebound

Review

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

Iron Cast follows the daring adventures of two best friends who go by the names Corinne and Ada. Corinne and Ada are both hemopaths. Hemopaths are individuals who have special abilities, but are illegal to use in the world they live in.

There is so much to love about this story. The diversity, the era, the tight knit friendship, the setting, the plot twists, and so much more. While the beginning of this book was slow, it did not take long before I was flying through the pages. The “magic” in this book is very unique and I have yet to read anything like it before. The different abilities of the hemopaths was also quite fascinating.

Iron Cast was such a strong debut and I will be waiting for Destiny’s next novel with bated breath. Pick up this book today…you won’t be disappointed!

3. 5 out of 5 stars

Dream Cast

1d003db6071057b24f03c4c83addcb66

Amandla Stenberg as Ada Navarra

imogen-poots_6-jpg

Imogen Poots as Corinne Wells

aaron-johnson10

Aaron Johnson as Gabriel Stone

0001d009a31203e6a22b386d16acea53

Leonardo Dicaprio as Johnny Dervish

b24e2da6e62015e3051f56a7c9a9c0f4

Cameron Monaghan as Saint

872dd2095cc2d5b52012a0fdb50b3daf

Broderick Hunter as Charlie Lewis


Meet The Author

1456195919981

When I was a little girl, I wrote a book entitled Horses of All Kinds (complete with illustrations and staple binding). I’ve been writing ever since, though with fewer crayons. I grew up in a tiny town in Alabama that you’ve never heard of, where I spent my summers playing with sticks in the woods and exploring such distinguished careers as Forest Bandit, Wayward Orphan, and Woodland Fairy Princess.

Since none of those were actual college majors, I settled on English, so that I could read and write to my heart’s content—and earn a degree while I was at it. After college, I ran away to New Zealand for seven months, where I only pretended to be a character from Lord of the Rings on special occasions. The rest of the time I backpacked across the wilderlands, petted fluffy sheep, and gave tours of a haunted prison.

Nowadays I live and work in the shadow of the mighty Vulcan in Birmingham, AL. In my spare time, I hula hoop badly, direct a Shakespearean web series called Shakes, and snuggle with my cat Sophie (named for the witch in Howl’s Moving Castle, of course).

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and her website.

The Fantastic Flying Book Club

Leave a Reply

