Review: Nemesis by Anna Banks

27414431Title: Nemesis

Author: Anna Banks

Publication Date: October 4, 2016

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Synopsis: Princess Sepora of Serubel is the last Forger in all the five kingdoms. The spectorium she creates provides energy for all, but now her father has found a way to weaponize it, and his intentions to incite war force her to flee his grasp. She escapes across enemy lines into the kingdom of Theoria, but her plans to hide are thwarted when she is captured and placed in the young king’s servitude.

Tarik has just taken over rulership of Theoria, and must now face a new plague sweeping through his kingdom and killing his citizens. The last thing he needs is a troublesome servant vying for his attention. But Mistress Sepora will not be ignored. When the two finally meet face-to-face, they form an unlikely bond that complicates life in ways neither of them could have imagined.

Sepora’s gift may be able to save Tarik’s kingdom. But should she risk exposing herself and her growing feelings for her nemesis?

Review

Escaping her father’s war thirsty wrath is all Sepora wishes for and hopefully live a nice, quiet life. However, her plans are hindered when she is captured and sold to the king of Theoria. As the last Forger, her spectorium is crucial for the survival of others…especially now that there is an uncurable sickness spreading throughout the kingdom of Theoria.

The beginning of this book starts with a slower pace. Now because this is a fantasy, there are elements to this world that must be explained to the reader to avoid confusion. While a slow start is not something I particularly favor, I understand the necessity of information that is crucial to the story. I urge you to read through the slower parts of this book because once the pace picks up, it really picks up. There were plot twists that I would have NEVER saw coming and the ending left me shattered in a million pieces.

Considering how much I loved the romance in Anna’s The Syrena Legacy series, it is no surprise that I also fell in love with the romance in Nemesis. Sepora and Tarik balance each other very nicely. Where Sepora is stubborn and rash, Tarik is patient and calculating. Yet Sepora is also kind and very generous. She risks her life to protect people she doesn’t even know. All she wishes for is a kingdom of peace.

The fantasy aspects of this story are the most unique I have ever read. There are “dragons” in this book that are unlike any other dragons I have heard of. They are called Serpens and they do not have legs. Imagine snakes with wings, but much more fierce. Then there is the Parani, a new kind of Merfolk.

I started reading this book on a whim and I am so delighted that I did. I am already counting down the days until I get the chance to read book two! I believe that this book is now my new favorite by Anna. If you love fantasy, read this book. If you love Anna Banks, read this book. If you are just looking for a book to read, read this book.

4.5 out of 5 stars


Meet The Author

504038

NYT Bestselling YA author of The Syrena Legacy series: Of Poseidon (2012), Of Triton (2013), Of Neptune (2014).

Repped by rockstar Lucy Carson of the Friedrich Agency.

I live with my husband and daughter in the Florida Panhandle. I have a southern accent compared to New Yorkers, and I enjoy food cooked with real fat. I can’t walk in high heels, but I’m very good at holding still in them. If you put chocolate in front of me, you must not have wanted it in the first place.

You can find her on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, and her website.

One thought on “Review: Nemesis by Anna Banks

  1. Oooh, dragons! I love dragons, and didn’t realize they were in this one! I’m all for unique fantasy, so this one sounds like a must read! So glad you enjoyed it, and awesome review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

